Member since: 05/2019

Active in: WG Plastics

yunusenvironmenthub.com

Yunus Environment Hub

Founded by Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Prof. Muhammad Yunus, the Yunus Environment Hub is the global social business network that creates solutions to the environmental crisis. Its diverse work is based on Grameen's 40 years of experience in developing and implementing social business solutions. Building on this, the Yunus Environment Hub offers expertise on the four pillars of incubation, venture building, consulting and education. The Yunus Environment Hub develops, promotes and implements innovative social business solutions in a variety of projects on relevant environmental topics such as circular economy, plastic pollution, CO2 emissions, biodiversity and renewable energies.

The Yunus Environment Hub is committed to expanding the circular economy and improving waste disposal and recycling systems. A particular focus is on improving living conditions and reducing environmental pollution in countries of the global south. Against this background, the Prevent Waste Alliance is a valuable platform for the Yunus Environment Hub to share best practices and form new partnerships. This strong network and the close cooperation with experienced partners enable the Yunus Environment Hub to always meet the respective requirements of the local population in a variety of projects.

Against the backdrop of a still increasing global consumption of natural resources, the concept of the circular economy postulates a radical rethinking. In contrast to previous linear value chains, the circular economy propagates using today’s products as tomorrow’s resources and emphasises the reusability of many resources and materials. The concept of social business practised by the Yunus Environment Hub plays a key role in the practical implementation of the theoretical idea of a circular economy. For example, local social businesses in countries of the global south make a fundamental contribution to the collection and recycling of plastic waste.

Mitglied seit: 05/2019

Aktiv in: AG Plastik

yunusenvironmenthub.com

Yunus Environment Hub

Gegründet von Friedensnobelpreisträger Prof. Muhammad Yunus ist der Yunus Environment Hub das globale Social Business Netzwerk, welches Lösungen für die Umweltkrise schafft. Hierbei beruht die vielfältige Arbeit auf der über 40-jährigen Erfahrung von Grameen in der Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Social Business Lösungen. Aufbauend darauf bietet der Yunus Environment Hub Expertise auf den vier Säulen Inkubation, Venture Building, Beratung und Bildung. Der Yunus Environment Hub entwickelt, fördert und implementiert hierbei innovative Social Business Lösungen in einer Vielzahl an Projekten zu relevanten Umweltthemen wie Kreislaufwirtschaft, Plastikverschmutzung, CO2- Emissionen, Biodiversität und Erneuerbare Energien.

Der Yunus Environment Hub engagiert sich für einen Ausbau der Kreislaufwirtschaft sowie für verbesserte Abfallentsorgungs- und Recyclingsysteme. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt hierbei auf der Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen und Verringerung der Umweltbelastung in Ländern des globalen Südens. Vor diesem Hintergrund stellt die PREVENT Waste Alliance für den Yunus Environment Hub eine wertvolle Plattform dar, um Best-Practices auszutauschen und neue Partnerschaften zu formen. Dieses starke Netzwerk und die enge Zusammenarbeit mit erfahrenen Partnern ermöglichen es dem Yunus Environment Hub, in einer Vielzahl an Projekten stets den jeweiligen Anforderungen im Sinne der lokalen Bevölkerung gerecht zu werden.

Vor dem Hintergrund eines noch immer steigenden globalen Verbrauchs an natürlichen Ressourcen postuliert das Konzept der Kreislaufwirtschaft ein radikales Umdenken. Im Kontrast zu bisherigen linearen Wertschöpfungsketten propagiert die Kreislaufwirtschaft, die Produkte von heute als Ressourcen von morgen einzusetzen und betont die Wiederverwendbarkeit vieler Ressourcen und Materialien. Das vom Yunus Environment Hub gelebte Konzept des Social Business spielt hierbei eine tragende Rolle bei der praktischen Umsetzung der theoretischen Idee einer Kreislaufwirtschaft. So leisten lokale Social Businesses in Ländern des globalen Südens beispielsweise einen elementaren Beitrag zur Sammlung und Wiederverwertung von Plastikmüll.