Member since: 05/2019

Active in: WG Plastics

www.wwf.de

World Wide Fund for Nature – Germany

The World Wide Fund For Nature (WWF) is one of the largest and most experienced conservation organizations in the world, active in more than 100 countries. It is supported by around five million sponsors worldwide. WWF's global network maintains 90 offices in more than 40 countries. Around the globe, employees are currently carrying out 1300 projects to conserve biological diversity. These projects also include information campaigns to reduce the use of disposable plastic and local projects to reduce the input of plastic waste into rivers and seas by improving waste management. Here we work with representatives of local WWF subsidiaries and with our international WWF team. WWF Germany is active in Vietnam on the island of Phu Quoc and in the Mekong Delta. There the WWF has developed a waste management concept for the province of Long An and is currently introducing a model project for the separate collection and recycling of waste. Another project is to support the implementation of extended producer responsibility systems in selected priority countries in order, among other things, to ensure sustainable financing of waste disposal and recycling management.

As plastic enters our environment it brings with it a number of risks. It damages various ecosystems on our planet and poses an acute danger to all the species living in our oceans, while plastic particles known as microplastics are absorbed into the food chain. That’s why we need to stop the uncontrolled flow of plastic into the environment. Moreover, inadequate waste infrastructure leads to wasted resources, air pollution and contaminated ground water, which in turn present risks to health and increase greenhouse gas emissions.
To tackle this issue, waste management systems around the world need to be improved, for example by avoiding unnecessary packaging; making sure products are designed to be recycled; reducing the proportion of waste that goes uncollected; introducing separate systems for collecting different types of waste, improving recycling and using more recycled materials. Setting up and improving systems for extended producer responsibility helps to secure sustainable levels of funding for a circular economy and improves recycling systems.
Thanks to the involvement of various interest groups, the Waste Alliance is in a position to support the development of a circular economy by helping to set up model projects and improve legal frameworks through international cooperation. The Waste Alliance is also an excellent platform for coordinating existing and planned projects in a sensible way.

Many materials are produced and disposed of as part of ‘open’ life cycles. Mineral ores and plastics end up as waste, much of which is either stored or released into the environment in an uncontrolled fashion. A genuinely circular economy brings enormous benefits. It saves resources, reduces emissions of the gases that cause climate change, and minimises the serious negative consequences of waste production on both the environment and human health. Waste that has been well sorted and separated can also be commercialised to generate revenue. From organic waste for compost to plastic packaging for new products and de-constructing electrical waste to recover valuable minerals – a circular economy brings a host of economic opportunities. The circular economy is still in its infancy from a global point of view. The decision as to whether certain types of waste should be re-used has to be about more than whether it is economically valuable. The circular economy should be encouraged through a combination of strict legal frameworks, economic incentives and the adoption of new technology, so that it no longer pays to waste raw materials and pollute the environment.

Mitglied seit: 03/2019

Aktiv in: AG Plastik

World Wide Fund for Nature – Deutschland

Der World Wide Fund For Nature (WWF) ist eine der größten und erfahrensten Naturschutzorganisationen der Welt und in mehr als 100 Ländern aktiv. Weltweit unterstützen ihn rund fünf Millionen Förderer. Das globale Netzwerk des WWF unterhält 90 Büros in mehr als 40 Ländern. Rund um den Globus führen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aktuell 1300 Projekte zur Bewahrung der biologischen Vielfalt durch. Zu diesen Projekten gehören auch Informationskampagnen, die Verwendung von Einwegplastik zu reduzieren und Projekte vor Ort, über die Verbesserung der Abfallwirtschaft den Eintrag von Plastikmüll in Flüsse und Meere zu reduzieren. Hier arbeiten wir mit Vertretern lokaler WWF-Niederlassungen und mit unserem internationalen WWF Team zusammen. Der WWF Deutschland ist in Vietnam auf der Insel Phu Quoc und im Mekong-Delta aktiv. Dort hat der WWF für die Provinz Long An ein Abfallwirtschaftskonzept entwickelt und führt derzeit ein Modellprojekt zur getrennten Erfassung und Verwertung von Abfällen ein. Ein weiteres Vorhaben ist die Unterstützung der Einführung von Systemen der erweiterten Produzentenverantwortung in ausgewählten Schwerpunktländern, um unter anderem eine nachhaltige Finanzierung der Abfallentsorgung und Kreislaufwirtschaft sicher zu stellen.

Der Eintrag von Kunststoffen in die Umwelt führt u.a. zu Schäden an verschiedenen Ökosystemen und einer Bedrohung vor allem der in den Meeren lebenden Tierarten. Zudem gelangen Mikroplastikpartikel in die Nahrungskette. Plastik darf daher nicht mehr unkontrolliert in die Umwelt gelangen. Zudem bedeutet eine unzureichende Abfallwirtschaft eine Verschwendung von Ressourcen, Verschmutzung von Luft und Grundwasser und davon ausgehend eine Bedrohung der Gesundheit und zusätzliche Emissionen von Treibhausgasen.
Das Abfallmanagement muss also weltweit verbessert werden – zum Beispiel durch Vermeidung unnötiger Verpackungen, recyclinggerechtes Design, Reduzierung des Anteils nicht gesammelter Abfälle, Einführung einer getrennten Erfassung von Abfällen, Verbesserung des Recyclings und Verwendung von mehr Recyclingmaterialien. Über die Etablierung oder der Verbesserung von Systemen der Erweiterten Produzentenverantwortung wird eine nachhaltige Finanzierung einer Kreislaufwirtschaft unterstützt und der Recyclingkreislauf verbessert.
Die Abfall-Allianz kann durch die Beteiligung der verschiedenen Interessengruppen den Aufbau von Modellprojekten und Verbesserung von gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen die Etablierung einer Kreislaufwirtschaft im Rahmen einer internationalen Zusammenarbeit unterstützen. Ebenso ist eine sinnvolle Koordinierung von bestehenden und geplanten im Rahmen der Abfall-Allianz möglich.

Für viele Materialen haben wir es mit in größten Teilen offenen Materialkreisläufen zu tun: Mineralische Rohstoffe und Kunststoffe werden zu Müll, der entweder zu großen Teilen abgelagert wird oder unkontrolliert in die Umwelt gelangt. Die Vorteile einer Kreislaufwirtschaft sind enorm: Ressourcen werden geschont, Emissionen klimawirksamer Gase reduziert und die gravierend negativen Auswirkungen der Müllproduktion auf Umwelt und Gesundheit minimiert. Gleichzeitig können Erträge generiert werden, wenn möglichst sortenreine Abfallfraktionen verwertet werden. Organische Abfälle für Kompost, Kunststoffverpackungen für neue Produkte und Elektroschrott zur Gewinnung wertvoller mineralischer Ressourcen: In der Kreislaufwirtschaft stecken auch erhebliche ökonomische Potentiale. Weltweit gesehen, steht die Kreislaufwirtschaft noch völlig am Anfang. Die ökonomische Verwertbarkeit von Abfallfraktionen darf nicht allein dafür ausschlaggebend sein, ob Müll verwertet wird oder nicht. Die Kreislaufwirtschaft muss durch strenge gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, ökonomische Anreize und Etablierung neuer Technologien gefördert werden, so dass sich Verschwendung von Rohstoffen und Vermüllung der Umwelt nicht mehr lohnt.