Member since: 06/2019

Active in: WG Framework conditions

www.vku.de

Verband Kommunaler Unternehmen e.V.

"Verband kommunaler Unternehmen e. V. (VKU) is the German Association of Local Utilities. It represents the interests of the local public utility sector in Germany, which includes both supply and disposal services. The 1500 member companies of the VKU operate in the energy supply, water supply and sewage, waste management and municipal cleaning sectors. With over 268,000 employees, they generate an annual turnover of over 116 billion euro and invest over 10 billion euro. More and more municipal companies are committing to the expansion of the broadband network and are investing over 375 million euro annually. Whether it is global water cycles, the worldwide pollution of oceans and the environment, the rise in renewable energy generation and the sustainable use of energy or the digital revolution, the core areas of municipal infrastructure services have a distinct international aspect. The only way to tackle the pressing global challenges facing our planet is by sharing ideas and information and cooperating on an international level. Municipal companies can make a really important contribution in this area. That is why the VKU encourages its members to get involved in international efforts and development policy."

“Municipal companies want to take responsibility. In an increasingly connected world, everyone must work together to find solutions for the benefit of all mankind. Municipal businesses in the waste management and municipal cleaning sectors can use their specialist expertise to improve waste prevention and recycling in developing and newly industrialised countries. Environmental and marine pollution is a rapidly growing problem globally: It is clogging up global ecosystems, causing health problems, destroying livelihoods and is increasingly a factor in migration. The consequences are far-reaching: Tuna with a stomach full of plastic is finding its way to German plates. By getting involved on an international level, municipal companies are making a stand and committing to jointly fighting the waste problem globally. Ultimately, people in Germany and Europe will also benefit from these efforts. This is our contribution to a global issue.” (Patrick Hasenkamp, Vice-President of the VKU, Waste Management Companies Münster [AWM]).

“Our society’s aim must be to create a circular economy. The only way that we will achieve wealth and enable participation is if we maximise the reutilisation of limited raw materials. And to do this, there are some fundamental steps that we need to take: Germany has taken on a leading role on the global stage with its waste treatment and recycling technologies. We want to use our expertise to help our partners to also make progress in this area. Many places still do not have a functioning waste management system. By sharing their knowledge and experience, municipal companies can work with their partners to develop specific solutions. The VKU therefore actively encourages its members to commit to PREVENT. This is why we are also involved in working group 4 of the Alliance, which focuses on improving the underlying conditions at municipal level. Together with various partners, we want to increase the support available and ultimately implement projects in cooperation with partners in the south.” (Patrick Hasenkamp, Vice-President of the VKU, Waste Management Companies Münster [AWM]).

Mitglied seit: 06/2019

Aktiv in: AG Rahmenbedingungen

www.vku.de

Verband Kommunaler Unternehmen e.V.

Der Verband kommunaler Unternehmen e. V. (VKU) ist die Interessenvertretung der kommunalen Versorgungs- und Entsorgungswirtschaft in Deutschland. Die knapp 1.500 Mitgliedsunternehmen des VKU sind in der Energieversorgung, der Wasser- und Abwasserwirtschaft sowie der Abfallwirtschaft und Stadtsauberkeit tätig. Mit über 268.000 Beschäftigten setzen sie jährlich über 116 Milliarden Euro um und investieren über 10 Milliarden Euro. Immer mehr kommunale Unternehmen engagieren sich im Breitbandausbau und investieren jährlich über 375 Millionen Euro. Globale Wasserkreisläufe, die weltweite Verschmutzung von Ozeanen und Umwelt, eine zunehmend regenerative Energiegewinnung und ihre nachhaltige Nutzung oder der digitale Wandel: die Kernbereiche kommunaler Infrastrukturdienstleistungen haben eine prominente internationale Komponente. Drängende globale Herausforderungen lassen sich nur durch Austausch und partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit auf internationaler Ebene meistern. Kommunale Unternehmen können dazu einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten. Deswegen motiviert und mobilisiert der VKU seine Mitglieder, sich international und entwicklungspolitisch zu engagieren.

„Die kommunalen Unternehmen wollen Verantwortung übernehmen. In einer zunehmend enger vernetzten Welt müssen gemeinsam Lösungen zum Wohle aller gefunden werden. Mit ihrem spezifischen Fachwissen können kommunale Betriebe der Abfallwirtschaft und Stadtsauberkeit dazu beitragen in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern die Abfallvermeidung und das Recycling zu stärken. Umwelt- und Meeresverschmutzung stellen global ein rasant wachsendes Problem dar: Sie setzen den weltweiten Ökosystemen zu, führen zu Gesundheitsproblemen, rauben Lebensgrundlagen und spielen eine zunehmende Rolle in der Migration. Die Folgen sind weitreichend: Der Thunfisch mit Plastik im Magen landet auch auf deutschen Tellern. Mit ihrem internationalen Engagement setzen sich die kommunalen Unternehmen deshalb dafür ein, das Müllproblem gemeinsam und überall zu bekämpfen. Davon profitieren am Ende auch die Menschen in Deutschland und Europa. Das ist unser Beitrag zu einer globalen Daseinsvorsorge.“ (Patrick Hasenkamp, Vizepräsident des VKU, AWM Abfallwirtschaftsbetriebe Münster)

„Die Kreislaufwirtschaft muss das Ziel unserer Gesellschaft sein. Nur wenn begrenzte Rohstoffe im Kreis geführt werden können wir Wohlstand erhalten und Teilhabe ermöglichen. Dafür sind elementare Schritte nötig: Deutschland hat sich mit seinen Abfallbehandlungs- und Recyclingtechnologien eine weltweite Führungsrolle erarbeitet. Mit unserem Wissen wollen wir unsere Partner dabei unterstützen, eigene Schritte zu gehen. Vielerorts gibt es noch keine funktionierende Abfallwirtschaft. Indem sie ihr Wissen und ihre Erfahrungen teilen, können kommunale Unternehmen mit ihren Partnern konkrete Lösungen entwickeln. Der VKU geht deshalb auf seine Mitglieder zu und wirbt für ein Engagement bei PREVENT. Dafür engagieren wir uns auch in der Arbeitsgruppe 4 „Rahmenbedingungen auf kommunaler Ebene verbessern“ der Allianz. Gemeinsam mit verschiedenen Partnern wollen wir Unterstützungsangebote erarbeiten und schließlich mit Partnern in Südländern Projekte umsetzen.“ (Patrick Hasenkamp, Vizepräsident des VKU, AWM Abfallwirtschaftsbetriebe Münster)