Member since: 05/2019

Active in: WG3

www.umicore.com

Umicore AG & Co KG

Umicore is a global materials technology and recycling group. Its activities are organised in three business groups: Catalysis, Energy & Surface Technologies and Recycling. Umicore generates the majority of its revenues and dedicates most of its R&D efforts to clean mobility materials and recycling. Umicore’s overriding goal of sustainable value creation is based on an ambition to develop, produce and recycle materials in a way that fulfils its mission: materials for a better life. The Group generated revenues (excluding metal) of € 1.6 billion (turnover of € 7.6 billion) in the first half of 2019 and currently employs 10,700 people.

In non- or poorly regulated E-waste markets, relying on market forces only will result in improper processing of both valuable and harmful fractions from WEEE. A strong cooperation between stakeholders along the recycling chain can, in that case, provide transparency and a guarantee for proper E-waste recycling & refining. PREVENT Waste Alliance can provide a framework to set up such partnerships in an international context, involving both industrial activities and authorities.

The energy and mobility transition as well as climate protection are central challenges that we can only master with new technologies and innovative business models. Electromobility, renewable energies and digitization require large quantities of metals to be used in a highly resource-efficient manner. This will not be possible without a functioning circular economy. However, this requires fundamental changes in the development, production, use and recycling of resource-relevant products, which can only be achieved through innovative, collaborative value chains along the global product life cycle and must be supported by coherent legal frameworks. As a leading materials technology and recycling company, Umicore wants to contribute to initiating this important change.

Mitglied seit: 05/2019

Aktiv in: AG Elektroschrott

www.umicore.com

Umicore AG & Co KG

Umicore ist ein globaler Materialtechnologie- und Recyclingkonzern. Seine Aktivitäten sind in drei Geschäftsfeldern organisiert: Catalysis, Energy & Surface Technologies und Recycling. Umicores Strategie fokussiert sich auf Materialien für saubere Mobilität und Recycling mit dem Ziel nachhaltiger Wertschöpfung. Dabei besteht der Anspruch, Werkstoffe auf eine Weise zu entwickeln, zu produzieren und zu recyceln, die dem Leitbild des Unternehmens gerecht wird: „Materials for a better life“. Im ersten Halbjahr 2019 erwirtschaftete der Konzern einen Umsatz von € 7,6 Milliarden (€ 1,6 Milliarden ohne Edelmetalle). Zurzeit beschäftigt er 10.700 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter.

In unzureichend regulierten Märkten für Elektro- und Elektronikaltgeräte (EAG) führt das alleinige Vertrauen auf die Marktkräfte oft zu einem unsachgemäßen Umgang mit wertvollen und schädlichen EAG-Fraktionen. Eine enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Akteuren entlang der Recyclingkette kann Transparenz und Sicherheit für eine ordnungsgemäße, hochwertige Verwertung von Elektroschrott schaffen. Die PREVENT Waste Alliance kann einen Rahmen für den Aufbau solcher Partnerschaften bieten.

Energiewende, Mobilitätswende und Klimaschutz sind zentrale Herausforderungen, die wir nur gemeinsam mit neuen Technologien und innovativen Geschäftsmodellen bewältigen können. Für Elektromobilität, erneuerbare Energien oder Digitalisierung werden große Mengen an metallischen Rohstoffen benötigt, die äußerst ressourceneffizient verwendet werden müssen. Ohne eine funktionierende Kreislaufwirtschaft wird sich dies nicht darstellen lassen. Hierfür bedarf es allerdings fundamentaler Änderungen bei Entwicklung, Produktion, Nutzung und dem Recycling von ressourcenrelevanten Produkten, die nur durch innovative, kollaborative Wertschöpfungsketten entlang des globalen Produktlebenszyklus realisiert werden können und durch kohärente gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen unterstützt werden müssen. Als ein führendes Materialtechnologie- und Recyclingunternehmen will Umicore dazu beitragen diesen wichtigen Wandel einzuleiten.