Member since: 11/2020

Active in: WG4

www.serg-web.com

Sustainable Energy Research Group

The Sustainable Energy Research Group (SERG) at Frederick University and Frederick Research Center, accredited with ISO 9001:2015, engages with state-of-the-art research regarding sustainable energy resources and waste to energy technologies. SERG activities include: research in the fields of sustainable energy technologies, consultation to the public sector on the implementation of European Acquis in the waste sector, laboratory and consulting services, as well as teaching activities under the Engineering School of Frederick University. SERG hosts the required lab equipment, as well as numerical tools for waste proximal and elemental analysis, as well as for waste thermochemical conversion processes and recycling.

The Sustainable Energy Research Group (SERG) became a member of PREVENT in order to exchange its know-how, experience and expertise with other bodies active in the field of waste management. Our research team, having developed a rich activity in recent years in rational policies and technologies of waste utilisation, attempts to transfer its know-how to other partners in the MENA region and the third world countries. Also, as a research team based in an isolated island state, we seek through our partnership with PREVENT, to obtain know-how from the most technologically advanced countries of Central and Northern Europe, which have developed long-term policies and techniques for waste management issues.

Our research group approaches the circular economy as the model that will completely change the way we perceive the rational management of resources on our planet. The circular economy is expected to be a comprehensive business model, which will lead us to re-evaluate the way we formulate waste management policies and practices. As a research team dealing with waste to energy production, the practical application of the principles of the circular economy and the introduction of the industrial symbiosis concept, will highlight the real limits of our sector, in the management of waste for energy production.

Mitglied seit: 11/2020

Aktiv in: AG4

www.serg-web.com

Sustainable Energy Research Group

Die Sustainable Energy Research Group (SERG) der Frederick University und dem Frederick Research Center, akkreditiert nach ISO 9001:2015, beschäftigt sich mit dem neuesten Stand der Forschung in Bezug auf nachhaltige Energieressourcen und "waste to energy"-Technologien. Die Aktivitäten der SERG umfassen: Forschung in den Bereichen der nachhaltigen Energietechnologien, Beratung des öffentlichen Sektors über die Umsetzung des europäischen Acquis im Abfallsektor, Labor- und Beratungsdienste, sowie Lehrtätigkeiten im Rahmen der Ingenieurschule der Friedrich-Universität. Die SERG verfügt über die erforderliche Laborausrüstung sowie über numerische Werkzeuge für die proximale und Elementaranalyse von Abfällen sowie für thermochemische Umwandlungsprozesse und Recycling von Abfällen.

Die Sustainable Energy Research Group (SERG) ist Mitglied von PREVENT, um ihr Know-how, ihre Erfahrung und ihre Fachkenntnisse mit anderen im Bereich der Abfallwirtschaft tätigen Einrichtungen auszutauschen. Unser Forschungsteam, das in den letzten Jahren umfangreiche Aktivitäten auf dem Gebiet der rationellen politischen Maßnahmen und Technologien zur Abfallverwertung durchgeführt hat, möchte sein Know-how an andere Partner in der MENA-Region und den Ländern der Dritten Welt weitergeben. Als Forschungsteam, das in einem isolierten Inselstaat angesiedelt ist, versuchen wir außerdem, durch unsere Partnerschaft mit PREVENT Know-how aus den technologisch fortschrittlichsten Ländern Mittel- und Nordeuropas zu erhalten, die langfristige Maßnahmen und Techniken für Fragen der Abfallwirtschaft entwickelt haben.

Unsere Forschungsgruppe betrachtet Kreislaufwirtschaft als das Modell, das die Art und Weise, wie wir die rationelle Verwaltung der Ressourcen auf unserem Planeten wahrnehmen, völlig verändern wird. Die Kreislaufwirtschaft wird als ganzheitliches Geschäftsmodell uns dazu veranlassen, die Art und Weise, wie wir Abfallwirtschaftspolitik und -praxis formulieren, neu zu bewerten. Als Forschungsteam, das sich mit der energetischen Abfallproduktion befasst, werden die praktische Anwendung der Prinzipien der Kreislaufwirtschaft und die Einführung des Konzepts der industriellen Symbiose die wirklichen Grenzen unseres Sektors bei der Bewirtschaftung von Abfällen für die Energieerzeugung aufzeigen.