Member since: 05/2020

Active in: WG1, WG2

www.nestle.com/

Société des Produits Nestlé S.A.

Nestlé is the world's biggest grocery and beverages company, with facilities in 189 countries. 328,000 staff are working hard every day all over the world to improve our customers’ quality of life and contribute to a healthier future. Nestlé is based at Vevey in Switzerland. It offers a wide range of products and services for humans and animals alike, at every stage of their lives. The group incorporates more than 2,000 brands, from icons like Nescafé, KitKat or Maggi to innovative new developments in the health sciences sector. Our strategic focus on nutrition and promoting good health and well-being is crucial to our success.

Nestlé has committed itself to making all its packaging worldwide recyclable or re-useable by 2025, and is also striving to increase the proportion of recyclable materials used in its packaging. Achieving these aims requires functioning and effective recycling infrastructure, something that is lacking in many countries. That’s why Nestlé and its partners are supporting schemes all over the world designed to make used packaging a valuable commodity and to create the infrastructure required for a functioning circular economy. PREVENT serves an important platform for promoting joint initiatives to help us meet these objectives.

Packaging plays an important role in protecting our food, but it must not be allowed to go to waste. Turning away from the linear economic model in favour of a circular economy will bring with it fundamental changes, not just in the way food is manufactured and packed, but in the way it’s marketed too. We are systematically overhauling the way we design our packaging to adapt it to the needs of the circular economy, including by developing new and innovative packaging and marketing concepts. Further investment in high-quality collection and recycling infrastructure is also required worldwide, not least to secure the secondary raw materials necessary for a genuinely circular economy. Our ability to work together with all the relevant stakeholders will be crucial to achieving our goals.

Mitglied seit: 03/2019

Aktiv in: AG1, AG2

www.nestle.de/

Société des Produits Nestlé S.A.

Nestlé ist das weltweit größte Unternehmen für Lebensmittel und Getränke mit Standorten in 189 Ländern. 328.000 Mitarbeiter setzen sich täglich auf der ganzen Welt dafür ein, die Lebensqualität zu steigern und zu einer gesünderen Zukunft beizutragen. Der Hauptsitz von Nestlé ist in Vevey (Schweiz). Nestlé bietet eine große Anzahl an Produkten und Dienstleistungen für Mensch und Tier in allen Lebenslagen an. Dies umfasst über 2.000 Marken von globalen Ikonen wie Nescafé, KitKat oder Maggi bis hin zu Innovationen im Health Science Bereich. Die strategische Ausrichtung auf Ernährung, Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden bestimmt den Unternehmenserfolg.

Nestlé hat sich dazu verpflichtet, dass alle Verpackungen weltweit bis 2025 recyclingfähig oder wiederverwendbar sein sollen, und strebt ergänzend dazu die Erhöhung des Rezyklatanteils in Verpackungen an. Hierfür ist eine gut funktionierende Recycling-Infrastruktur erforderlich, die in vielen Ländern fehlt oder nicht leistungsfähig ist. Daher unterstützt Nestlé mit Partnern weltweit Initiativen, die gebrauchten Verpackungen einen Wert geben und Infrastruktur für eine funktionierende Kreislaufwirtschaft schaffen. PREVENT ist hierfür eine wichtige Plattform, auf der gemeinsame Initiativen vorangebracht werden können.

Verpackungen spielen eine wichtige Rolle beim Schutz unserer Lebensmittel, aber sie dürfen nicht zu Abfall werden. Die Abkehr vom linearen Wirtschaftsmodell hin zu einer Kreislaufwirtschaft wird grundlegende Veränderungen sowohl in der Herstellung und Verpackung als auch der Vermarktung von Lebensmitteln mit sich bringen. Wir überarbeiten systematisch unsere Verpackungsgestaltung und passen sie an die Notwendigkeiten der Kreislaufwirtschaft an. Dazu gehört auch, dass wir neue, innovative Verpackungs- und Vermarktungskonzepte entwickeln. Auch um die Verfügbarkeit der benötigten Sekundärrohstoffe zu sichern sind weitere Investitionen in eine leistungsfähige Sammel- und Recyclinginfrastruktur weltweit erforderlich. Zusammenarbeit mit allen relevanten Akteuren ist entscheidend für Fortschritte auf diesem Weg.