Member since: 05/2019

Active in: WG2, WG4

www.remondis.de

REMONDIS Assets & Services GmbH & Co. KG

REMONDIS is one of the world's largest private service companies for recycling, service and water, from which around 30 million citizens, public clients and companies benefit. REMONDIS is active on four continents at over 800 locations in more than 30 countries around the world as a leading expert in the growing recycling sector and in the recycling of a wide range of recyclable materials. Founded in 1934 and employing 36,000 people, the family-owned company has an annual turnover of 7.9 billion euros (2018). REMONDIS focuses on concepts based on partnership, supports forward-looking ideas and is constantly working on leading innovations for the efficient preservation of raw materials. We currently recycle more than 30 million tonnes of recyclable materials every year. By returning recyclable materials from industrial use and consumption back into the economic cycle, REMONDIS is saving the need to extract raw materials from nature - and is thus saving a great deal of damage to the environment and the climate. As the market leader in recycling, REMONDIS is making a significant contribution to harmonizing the economy and ecology by further systematizing a closed-loop environmental service branch in order to focus on the worsening effects of the global economy on nature.

As a leading recycling company, our aim and purpose is to do everything we can to make reprocessing valuable waste materials as efficient as possible. From our point of view, consumer and business waste is a valuable raw material, and one we can use to make new and marketable products. That’s why we are proud to operate in a way that’s both good for business and good for the environment. Feeding the widest possible range of raw materials into the economic and materials cycles – thus protecting the environment and combating climate change – is our top priority.
Through its membership of the PREVENT Waste Alliance, REMONDIS aims systematically to encourage re-use and recycling of high-quality waste materials, especially in developing countries and emerging economies. In many poor countries around the world the lack of suitable waste disposal infrastructure has already turned waste management into a existential problem, one that poses an increasing threat to the environment.
As a traditional family firm operating in the water industry and the circular economy, we are using the full range of our innovations and know-how to promote knowledge and technology transfer. We are delighted to support the PREVENT Waste Alliance in its aim of raising awareness of sustainability and recycling in the global south, thus improving living conditions in those countries and all over the world.

REMONDIS operates Europe’s biggest industrial recycling centre at its headquarters in Lünen, just north of Dortmund. Here and at many other sites around the world, we are constantly working to fight climate change by developing innovative ideas to make more efficient use of raw materials and encourage the re-use of recyclables. We reintroduce more than 30 million metric tonnes of recyclable material into the economic cycle every single year, with over a million tonnes coming from our Lippe plant at Lünen alone. Recovering materials this way has a much smaller impact on the landscape and uses far less energy than manufacturing new materials from scratch, allowing us to save 488,000 metric tonnes of CO2 a year. We are committed to constantly developing new processes to establish the circular economy in more industries, and will continue to optimise existing circular systems.

Mitglied seit: 05/2019

Aktiv in: AG Plastik, AG Rahmenbedingungen

www.remondis.de

REMONDIS Assets & Services GmbH & Co. KG

REMONDIS ist eines der weltweit größten privaten Dienstleistungsunternehmen für Recycling, Service und Wasser, wovon rund 30 Millionen Bürger, öffentliche Auftraggeber und Unternehmen profitieren. REMONDIS ist an über 800 Standorten in über 30 Ländern weltweit auf vier Kontinenten führend in der wachsenden Kreislaufwirtschaft als Experte für Recycling unterschiedlichster Wertstoffe aktiv. Damit erwirtschaftet das 1934 gegründete Familienunternehmen mit 36.000 Mitarbeitern einen Jahresumsatz von 7,9 Milliarden Euro (2018). REMONDIS setzt dabei auf partnerschaftliche Konzepte, unterstützt zukunftsweisende Ideen und arbeitet stetig und führend an Innovationen zur effizienten Bewahrung von Rohstoffen. Zur Zeit führen wir mehr als 30 Millionen Tonnen Wertstoffe jedes Jahr in den Kreislauf zurück. Mit der Wiederzuführung von Wertstoffen aus der Industrieverwendung und dem Konsum zurück in den Wirtschaftskreislauf erspart REMONDIS die Förderung von Rohstoffen aus der Natur – und damit wesentliche Umwelt- und Klimaschädigungen. Im Fokus auf die sich zuspitzenden Auswirkungen der Weltwirtschaft auf die Natur leistet REMONDIS als Marktführer im Recycling wesentliche Beiträge zur Harmonisierung von Ökonomie und Ökologie durch die weitere Systematisierung einer geschlossenen Kreislaufwirtschaft.

Als führendes Recyclingunternehmen ist es unser Geschäftszweck und Anspruch, uns für Effizienzentwicklungen zur Wiederaufbereitung von Wertstoffen aus Abfällen einzusetzen. Denn die Abfälle der Wirtschaft und des Konsums sind für uns Wertstoffe – wir stellen hieraus wieder Wirtschaftsgüter her. So können wir mit Stolz wesentliche ökologische und ökonomische Gemeinwohlziele verbinden: Die Rückführung verschiedenster Rohstoffe in den Wirtschafts- und Stoffkreislauf – und damit der Umwelt- und Klimaschutz – haben für uns die oberste Priorität.
Mit der Mitgliedschaft in der Abfall-Allianz PREVENT möchte REMONDIS die ökologisch notwendige Weiterverwendung von Abfällen – hochwertige Recyclingrohstoffe – systematisch fördern, insbesondere in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern. In vielen ärmeren Ländern ist das Abfallproblem durch bislang fehlende infrastrukturelle Entsorgungslösungen ein teils schon existenzielles und weiter wachsendes Umweltproblem.
Als traditionsreiches Familienunternehmen der Wasser-und Kreislaufwirtschaft setzen wir uns mit Know-how und vielen Innovationen zur Förderung des Wissens- und Technologietransfers ein und unterstützen sehr gern die notwendigen Ziele der Abfall-Allianz PREVENT, ein Nachhaltigkeitsbewusstsein zum Recycling in den Ländern des globalen Südens weiter zu fördern und damit die Lebensbedingungen vor Ort und auf der Welt zu verbessern.

REMONDIS betreibt am Hauptsitz in Lünen/Westfalen Europas größtes Zentrum für industrielles Recycling. Hier und an vielen anderen Standorten auf der Welt arbeiten wir stetig und führend an Innovationen zur effizienten Bewahrung der Rohstoffe und damit des Klimas und dem Wiedereinsatz von Recyclingrohstoffen. Mehr als 30 Millionen Tonnen Recyclingrohstoffe führen wir Jahr für Jahr in den wirtschaftlichen Kreislauf zurück, allen in unserem Lippewerk in Lünen jährlich fast eine Million Tonnen. Hierdurch sparen wir – weil deutlich energieärmer und landschaftsschonender gewonnen – jährlich 488.000 Tonnen CO2 ein. Unser Bestreben ist es, beständig neue Verfahren zu entwickeln, um weitere Stoffkreisläufe schließen zu können und bereits bestehende Kreisläufe weiter zu optimieren.