Member sinde: 05/2019

Active in: WG2

www.plasticbank.com

Plastic Bank

Plastic Bank is a social enterprise with the aim of preventing the littering of the oceans with plastic and at the same time giving informal waste collectors a chance to improve their standards of living. We work in the Philippines, Indonesia, Haiti and Brazil and continue to expand. Plastic Bank began in 2014 with 7 employees and a monthly collection of about 20 tons of plastic. By the end of 2019, the organization had nearly 100 employees and collected about 500 tons of plastic waste per month. Major customers include Henkel, SCJohnson, discount store Aldi and drugstore DM, as well as a number of medium-sized companies. About 10000 informal garbage collectors and their families benefit from the program, through increased income, as well as access to health insurance, education, internet and solar power. Plastic Bank also collaborates with various civil society organizations and religious communities. The organization was awarded at the UN conferences COP 21 and 23, as well as at the SDG Festival in Bonn, through the IBM-developed Blockchain App, which is used as an operating system for recording all transactions.

The plastic waste problem has taken on a global dimension, that a single organization, is not able to solve the same problem. The different factors are also of a complexity, that one approach is not sufficient to do the job. The Alliance offers a variety of different solutions from a wide range of stakeholders where we can get involved and whom we want to support. In addition, our approach is based on multiple partnerships, which can be achieved through the membership in the alliance, a potential expansion and the creation of synergies for exposed outcomes.

Plastic Bank aims to prevent the flow of plastic waste into the oceans. Thus we collect plastic, in countries with large amounts of plastic waste, which reaches the oceans. In these countries poverty is very widespread. By selling the collected plastic as a raw material for the recycling economy, we give impoverished waste collectors access to a better income. Thus, our contribution to the recycling economy is not only a reduction of plastic waste in the seas, but also an effective strategy to fight poverty.

Mitglied seit: 05/2019

Aktiv in: AG2

www.plasticbank.com

Plastic Bank

Plastic Bank ist ein Sozialunternehmen, mit dem Ziel die Vermüllung der Ozeane mit Plastik zu unterbinden und gleichzeitig informellen Müllsammlern ein besseres Leben ermöglicht. Wir arbeiten auf den Philippinen, Indonesien, Haiti und Brasilien und expandieren weiter. Plastikbank begann 2014 mit 7 Mitarbeitern und einer Sammelmenge von etwa 20 Tonnen von Plastik monatlich. Ende 2019 verfügt die Organisation über fast 100 Mitarbeiter und sammelt etwa 500 Tonnen Plastikmüll monatlich. Großkunden sind die Firmen Henkel, SCJohnson, der Discounter Aldi und der Drogeriemarkt DM, sowie ein Reihe mittelständischer Unternehmen. Etwa 10000 informelle Müllsammler und ihre Familien profitieren von dem Programm, durch erhöhtes Einkommen, sowie Zugang zu Krankenversicherung, Schulbildung, Internet und Solarstrom. Plastic Bank arbeitet auch mit verschieden Organisationen aus Zivilgesellschaft und auch Religionsgemeinschaften zusammen. Die Organisation wurde bei den UN Konferenzen COP 21 und 23 ausgezeichnet, sowie beim SDG Festival in Bonn, durch die von IBM entwickelte Blockchain App, die als Betriebssystem für die Erfassung alles Transaktionen verwendet wird.

Das Plastikmüllproblem hat global ein Ausmaß angenommen, dass eine Organisation, nicht in der Lage ist, dasselbe zu lösen Die verschiedenen Faktoren sind auch von einer Komplexität, dass ein Ansatz nicht ausreicht, um dem gerecht zu werden. Die Allianz bietet eine Vielzahl verschiedener Lösungsansätze von einer großen Bandbreite von Stakeholdern, wo wir uns gut einbringen können und den wir unterstützen wollen. Zudem basiert unser Ansatz auf einem multiplen Partnerschaften, welcher durch die Mitgliedschaft in der Allianz, eine potenzielle Ausweitung und das Erreichen von Synergien für exponierenden Ergebnissen gegeben werden kann.

Plastic Bank hat das Ziel, den Fluss von Plastikmüll in die Ozeane zu verhindern. Somit sammeln wir Plastik, in den Ländern mit großen Mengen von Plastikmüll, der in die Meere gelangt.  In diesen Ländern ist Armut sehr weit verbreitet. Durch den Verkauf des gesammelten Plastiks als Rohstoff für die Kreislaufwirtschaft, ermöglichen wir verarmten Müllsammlern, Zugang zu einem besseren Einkommen. Somit ist unser Beitrag zur Kreislaufwirtschaft nicht nur eine Verminderung des Plastikmülls in den Meeren, sondern auch eine wirkungsvolle Strategie der Armutsbekämpfung.