Member since: 10/2020

Active in: WG3, WG4

www.pem-motion.com

PEM Motion GmbH

The PEM Motion GmbH (initially PEM Aachen GmbH) was founded in 2014 as a spin-off of the Chair for Production Engineering for E-Mobility Components (PEM) by Prof. Achim Kampker at the RWTH Aachen University as part of the StreetScooter development. PEM Motion sees itself as an engineering and consulting partner. We not only develop successful mobility solutions - we industrialise them. From a small team of innovative thinking engineers, an internationally operating company for automobile manufacturers, mobility providers, suppliers and start-ups has grown. PEM Motion is represented at three locations in Europe and North America.

We want to make a difference – today
Our motivation is to shape important issues towards more sustainable mobility. In doing so, we understand mobility as an overall concept – i.e. from manufacturing and production to disposal, recovery or further use of the product. In this respect, the network and exchange that results from the PREVENT Waste Alliance is extremely important to us. Working in a network with the various players in the value chain enables us to achieve more together.

The number of electric vehicles on the market is constantly increasing. However, the use in electric vehicles is no longer reasonable if the state of health is below 80%. Normally, only a few fall below the failure threshold. Nevertheless, the complete battery system is removed and disposed of.
Our idea of a circular economy: After taking back the used battery systems, they are analysed down to the battery cell level and the best decision for the recovery strategy is determined. The battery modules and cells are dismantled before testing and then sorted. In this way, individual parts can be reprocessed and assembled either into new battery systems for direct re-use in the vehicle or for a 2nd life in stationary energy storage systems.

Mitglied seit: 10/2020

Aktiv in: AG3, AG4

www.pem-motion.com

PEM Motion GmbH

Die PEM Motion GmbH (anfänglich PEM Aachen GmbH) wurde im Jahr 2014 im Rahmen der StreetScooter-Entwicklung als Ausgründung des Lehrstuhls für Produktionstechnik für Elektromobilitätskomponenten (PEM) von Prof. Achim Kampker an der RWTH Aachen University gegründet. PEM Motion versteht sich als Engineering und Consulting Partner. Wir entwickeln nicht nur erfolgreiche Mobilitätslösungen – wir industrialisieren diese. Aus einem kleinen Team innovativ denkender Ingenieure ist ein international agierendes Unternehmen für Automobilhersteller, Mobilitätsanbieter, Zulieferer und Start-Ups gewachsen. PEM Motion ist an drei Standorten in Europa und Nordamerika vertreten.

Wir wollen etwas bewegen – und zwar heute
Unsere Motivation ist es, wichtige Themen hin zu einer nachhaltigeren Mobilität zu gestalten. Dabei verstehen wir Mobilität als Gesamtkonzept – also von der Herstellung über die Produktion bis hin zur Entsorgung, der Wiedergewinnung oder Weiterverwendung des Produktes. Insofern ist für uns das Netzwerk und der Austausch, der sich über die PREVENT Abfall Allianz ergibt, überaus wichtig. Die Arbeit im Netzwerk mit den unterschiedlichen Akteuren der Wertschöpfungskette ermöglicht es gemeinsam mehr zu erreichen.

Die Anzahl der E-Fahrzeuge am Markt steigt stetig. Allerdings ist der Einsatz im Elektrofahrzeug bei unter 80% State-of-Health nicht mehr sinnvoll. Dabei unterschreiten in der Regel nur wenige die Ausfallgrenze. Dennoch wird das komplette Batteriesystem ausgebaut und entsorgt.
Unsere Vorstellung von Kreislaufwirtschaft: Nach der Rücknahme der gebrauchten Batteriesysteme werden diese bis auf Batteriezellebene analysiert und die jeweils beste Entscheidung für die Rückgewinnungsstrategie bestimmt. Die Batteriemodule und -zellen werden vor dem Testen demontiert und anschließend sortiert. So können Einzelteile aufbereitet und entweder zu neuen Batteriesystemen für den direkten Wiedereinsatz im Fahrzeug oder für ein 2nd Life in stationären Energiespeichern aufgebaut werden.