Member since: 03/2020

Active in: WG2, WG4

www.oth-aw.de/

Ostbayrische Technische Hochschule Amberg-Weiden

OTH Amberg Weiden is a young, innovative university that provides its students with high quality, future-focused education and training. It is spread across two sites and features a lively campus, world-class facilities and an excellent staff/student ratio. Our Amberg site is home to our faculty of Mechanical /Environmental Engineering and our Electrical Engineering, Media and Computer Science faculty, which have a total of around 1,600 students between them. At Weiden, 1,500 young scholars are studying at our Industrial Engineering faculty and Weiden Business School. Our students are highly sought-after in the local, national and international economy, and are widely recognised as eminently capable young graduates. Most of them find highly-qualified jobs in the local area and beyond.

Environmental engineering, and the circular economy in particular, has been a major focus of OTH Amberg-Weiden’s work from the beginning. As part of the current debate on climate change and the environment, the connections between these areas and development projects are becoming increasingly apparent. A number of lively student initiatives (such as Technik ohne Grenzen – Technology without Borders) have developed in this context. Overall, we have noticed that international interest in our expertise and related issues has grown significantly in recent years, and that this growth is continuing to accelerate. For example, we are currently developing a joint ‘double-degree’ course in Environmental Technology with the Universidad Nacional in Mendoza, Argentina. Our membership of, and active participation in, the PREVENT Waste Alliance represents a valuable addition to our existing activities.

OTH Amberg-Weiden has been training engineers in environmental engineering since 1998, first in a diploma course and then, from 2008 onwards, in Bachelor’s and Master’s programmes. Recycling and waste management technology was a key pillar of these courses from the start, along with preventing air pollution, water treatment and keeping waterways clean, and sustainable energy technology. Many of our graduates are now working in these areas for environmental authorities, waste disposal companies, planning departments and industry. Our extensive range of partnerships and projects with municipal and regional authorities, the private sector and various international institutions reflects the importance OTH Amberg-Weiden attaches to the circular economy, as does our involvement in various support projects and public events.

Mitglied seit: 03/2020

Aktiv in: AG2, AG4

www.oth-aw.de/

Ostbayrische Technische Hochschule Amberg-Weiden

Die OTH Amberg Weiden ist eine junge und innovative Hochschule, die ihren Studierenden eine hoch qualifizierte und zukunftsorientierte Ausbildung bietet. Sie hat zwei Hochschulstandorte mit einem lebendigen Campus, bester Ausstattung und ein optimales Betreuungsverhältnis. Am Standort Amberg sind die Fakultäten „Maschinenbau / Umwelttechnik“ und „Elektrotechnik, Medien und Informatik“ mit insgesamt etwa 1600 Studierenden angesiedelt, in Weiden studieren etwa 1500 junge Frauen und Männer an den Fakultäten „Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen“ und „Betriebswirtschaft (Weiden Business School)“. Die Absolventen werden von der regionalen und überregionalen Wirtschaft als kompetenter Nachwuchs geschätzt und finden in aller Regel qualifizierte Arbeitsplätze in der Region und weit darüber hinaus.

Die Umwelttechnik und speziell die Kreislaufwirtschaft bilden von Anfang an einen thematischen Schwerpunkt in der Arbeit der OTH Amberg-Weiden. Vor dem Hintergrund der aktuellen Klima- und Umweltdebatte ergeben sich zunehmend Verbindungen dieser Themengebiete zur Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Es haben sich auch bereits rege studentische Aktivitäten (“Technik ohne Grenzen”) in diesem Kontext entwickelt. Insgesamt stellen wir in den letzten Jahren ein zunehmendes Interesse am Zusammenhang unserer Kompetenzen im internationalen Kontext fest. Beispielhaft sei die aktuelle Entwicklung eines gemeinsamen Double-Degree-Studiengangs im Bereich Umwelttechnik mit der Universidad Nacional in Mendoza / Argentinien genannt. Die Mitgliedschaft und aktive Mitwirkung in der PREVENT Waste Alliance ist eine wertvolle Ergänzung unserer Aktivitäten.

An der OTH Amberg-Weiden werden seit 1998 Ingenieure und Ingenieurinnen in der Umwelttechnik ausgebildet, zunächst in einem Diplomstudiengang und seit 2008 in einem Bachelor- und einem Masterstudiengang. Einen wesentlichen Themenschwerpunkt bildete neben der Luftreinhaltung, der Wasserreinhaltung und -aufbereitung und der umweltgerechten Energietechnik dabei von Anfang an die Recycling- und Abfalltechnik. Zahlreiche Absolventen arbeiten heute an dieser Thematik in Umweltbehörden, Unternehmen der Entsorgungswirtschaft, Planungsbüros und in der Industrie. Umfangreiche Kooperationen und Projekte mit kommunalen und Landesbehörden, der Wirtschaft und weiteren Institutionen auf internationaler Ebene, Förderprojekte und öffentliche Veranstaltungen spiegeln die großen Bedeutung der Thematik Kreislaufwirtschaft an der OTH Amberg-Weiden wider.