Member since: 12/2019

Active in: WG1, WG2

www.meltcollective.com/indomelt

MELT Collective Society

INDOxMELT

The not-for-profit MELT Collective is a successful and innovative circular economy focused FabLab at the University of British Columbia (Canada). INDOxMELT is an offshoot of MELT with a focus in Indonesia. Together with local partners we develop community based Circular Economy FabLabs to create Small Island Plastic Solutions in Indonesia. INDOxMELT confronts the unprecedented socio-ecological problems of waste from transcultural lenses and builds its projects interdisciplinarily, through Engineering, Human Geography, Architecture, Design, Social/Cultural Anthropology and Entrepreneurship. Our applied research projects and educational events center around to waste at universities in Canada, Indonesia and Germany.

We became a member of the alliance because we wish to connect and exchange information with other members and partners of the alliance in order to create systems change towards community-based circular economy production methods.

MELT strives for systems change towards Circular Economy achieved through holistic understanding across disciplines. Our goal is to systematically shape materials and products entering small island ecosystems in Indonesia as cutting-edge examples of circular economy in practice and to create a replicable, distributed model for small islands. We identify problematic waste sources through waste flow mapping and intervene in the system to design alternative futures to them through innovative material & social solutions (plastic transformation workshops, business model innovation, enabling purchaser’s coops, innovative education methods).

Mitglied seit: 12/2019

Aktiv in: AG1, AG2

www.meltcollective.com/indomelt

MELT Collective Society

INDOxMELT

Die NGO-Gesellschaft MELT Collective ist ein erfolgreiches, innovatives FabLab, das sich an der University of British Columbia (Kanada) mit Kreislaufwirtschaftsprozessen auseinandersetzt. INDOxMELT ist ein MELT-Spross mit Schwerpunkt Indonesien. Zusammen mit ortsansässigen Partnern entwickeln wir gemeindebasierte Kreislaufwirtschaft-FabLabs, um in Indonesien Kunststofflösungen für kleine Inselstaaten zu schaffen. INDOxMELT konfrontiert das sozio-ökologische Abfallproblem aus kulturübergreifender Sicht und entwickelt fachübergreifende Projekte unter Einbeziehung von Ingenieurwissenschaften, Humangeographie, Architektur, Design, Sozial-/Kulturanthropologie und Unternehmertum. Unsere angewandten Forschungsprojekte und die Bildungsveranstaltungen an Universitäten in Kanada, Indonesien und Deutschland befassen sich mit dem Thema Abfälle.

Wir sind Mitglied der Allianz geworden, weil wir uns mit anderen Mitgliedern und Partnern der Allianz verbinden und austauschen und Systemveränderungen hin zu gemeindebasierten, kreislaufwirtschaftskompatiblen Produktionsmethoden erreichen möchten.

MELT strebt Systemveränderungen hin zur Kreislaufwirtschaft an und möchte diese durch ein ganzheitliches Durchdringen aller Fachrichtungen erreichen. Unser Ziel ist die systematische Entwicklung von Materialien und Produkten, die in indonesische Kleininsel-Ökosysteme gelangen. Damit wollen wir ein hochmodernes Beispiel der Kreislaufwirtschaft in die Praxis umsetzen und für die kleinen Inseln ein reproduzierbares, dezentralisiertes Modell schaffen. Wir bestimmen problematische Abfallquellen durch Abfallfluss-Mapping und greifen in das System ein, um durch innovatives Material und gesellschaftlich machbare Lösungen alternative Handelsgüter zu entwickeln (Seminare zur Kunststoff-Transformation, Geschäftsmodell-Innovation, Schaffung von Käuferkooperativen, innovative Bildungsmethoden).