Member since: 03/2020

Active in: WG1, WG2, WG4

www.malteser-international.org

Malteser International

Malteser International (MI) is the international relief agency of the Order of Malta. Christian values and humanitarian principles form the basis of its work. MI supports people in need - regardless of their religion, origin or political convictions. MI provides emergency aid in crises, conflicts and natural disasters and is active in transitional aid as well as in long-term development programs. MI plans and implements programs in areas such as health; water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH); food nutrition security, and disaster preparedness. MI works in more than 100 projects in more than 23 countries in Africa, America, Asia and Europe every year. The work with national and local partners is of particular importance.

The Agenda for Sustainable Development and the papal encyclical “Laudato Si” call for a common effort by all to solve ecological and social problems and to counteract the increasing destruction of the basis of life.
In WASH projects of MI, the issue of “waste” has always played a role to improve the hygiene and health situation. Due to the increase of plastic waste in the oceans, the livelihoods of many people are endangered. Multi-actor partnerships are necessary to successfully and sustainably reduce plastic pollution. Through its membership in the PREVENT Waste Alliance, Malteser International hopes for a constructive exchange and cooperation with other actors in order to develop innovative solutions and implement projects together.

Malteser International is working on several levels to strengthen the waste and circular economy in cities and communities and hopes to achieve ecological, socio-economic, socio-cultural and global impacts:

  • Building a partnership for ecological sustainability between local government and its social groups by promoting environmental citizenship and a participatory “Zero-Plastic-Strategy;
  • Marine protection through training and better equipment for coastal towns and cities for the reduction and management of plastic waste
  • Social and fair economic participation of informal waste collectors in the implementation of the Zero Waste Plastic Strategy and thus integrating them into society;
  • Improved global and regional cooperation in the reduction of plastic waste through networking and partnership of diverse stakeholders and professional exchange

Mitglied seit: 03/2020

Aktiv in: AG1, AG2, AG4

www.malteser-international.org

Malteser International

Malteser International (MI) ist das internationale Hilfswerk des Malteserordens. Christliche Werte und humanitäre Prinzipien bilden die Grundlage der Arbeit. MI unterstützt Menschen in Not – unabhängig von ihrer Religion, Herkunft oder politischen Überzeugung. MI leistet Nothilfe in Krisen, Konflikten und Naturkatastrophen und ist in der Übergangshilfe sowie in langjährigen Entwicklungsprogrammen aktiv. MI plant und implementiert Programme v.a. in den Bereichen Gesundheit; Wasser, Sanitärversorgung und Hygiene (WASH); Nahrungssicherheit und Ernährung sowie Katastrophenvorsorge. MI arbeitet jährlich in mehr als über 100 Projekten in mehr als 23 Ländern Afrikas, Amerikas, Asiens und Europas. Der Arbeit mit nationalen und lokalen Partnern kommt besondere Bedeutung zu.

Die Agenda für nachhaltige Entwicklung sowie die päpstliche Enzyklika “Laudato Si” fordern zu gemeinsamen Anstrengungen Aller auf, um ökologische und soziale Probleme zu lösen und der zunehmenden Zerstörung der Lebensgrundlagen entgegenzuwirken.
In WASH-Projekten von MI hat das Thema „Müll“ zur Verbesserung der Hygiene- und Gesundheitssituation schon immer eine Rolle gespielt. Durch die Zunahme des Plastikmülls in den Meeren sind die Lebensgrundlagen vieler Menschen gefährdet. Multi-Akteurs-Partnerschaften, sind notwendig, um erfolgreich und nachhaltig die Plastikverschmutzung zu reduzieren. Durch die Mitgliedschaft bei der PREVENT Abfall Allianz, erhofft Malteser International einen konstruktiven Austausch und Kooperationen mit anderen Akteuren zur Entwicklung innovativer Lösungen und deren gemeinsamer Implementierung.

Malteser International setzt auf mehrere Ebenen an, um die Abfall- und Kreislaufwirtschaft in Städten und Gemeinden zu stärken und erhofft sich dadurch ökologische, sozio-ökonomische, sozio-kulturelle und globale Wirkungen:

  • Aufbau einer Partnerschaft für ökologische Nachhaltigkeit zwischen lokaler Regierung und ihren gesellschaftlichen Gruppen durch die Förderung eines „Environmental Citizenship“ und einer partizipativ erarbeiteten „Zero-Plastic-Strategy“
  • Meeresschutz durch Schulung und Ausstattung von küstennahen Städten und Gemeinden zur Reduzierung und Bewirtschaftung von Kunststoffabfällen
  • Soziale und faire wirtschaftliche Beteiligung von informellen Abfallsammler in die Umsetzung der Zero-Waste-Plastic-Strategie und somit deren Eingliederung in die Gesellschaft
  • Verbesserte globale und regionale Zusammenarbeit bei der Reduzierung von Kunststoffabfällen durch fachlichen Austausch, Vernetzung und Partnerschaft vielfältiger Akteure.