Member since: 01/2020

Active in: WG1, WG2

www.jokey.com

Jokey SE

The Jokey Group is a plastics processing company based in Wipperfürth in western Germany. A family business since it was established in 1968, it is widely recognised as one of the world's leading manufacturers of plastic packaging. Jokey produces sustainable packaging at 15 sites in 12 countries, and supplies sector-specific solutions for packaging both food and non-food items. Our comprehensive expertise in the plastics industry is rounded off by our own in-house tool-making business and divisions specialising in bathroom furniture and plastics for technical applications. From the very beginning, Jokey has been very much aware of its responsibility to improve the environmental reputation of the plastics industry and to promote sustainability at every stage of the value chain, as evidenced by our determination to develop the Jokey Eco Concept and a number of other initiatives.

The aims of the Prevent Waste Alliance are a perfect match for Jokey’s own sustainable business philosophy. In joining the Alliance, we are also helping to develop our own Jokey Eco Concept by pro-actively taking responsibility for products. We want to use our expert knowledge, built up over many years, to build-in and improve sustainability at every stage of the value chain. We are convinced that we can only succeed in this aim if key players from the worlds of industry, commerce and politics come together to encourage the development of waste collection systems and support the transition to a circular economy.

For us, recycling means reusing post-consumer recyclables as high-quality raw materials for original packaging products. That’s why, at Jokey, we have been turning valuable secondary raw materials collected from domestic waste into new packaging for the non-food sector since the early 1990s. This process is now an integral part of the Jokey Eco Concept across the entire Jokey Group. In light of global increases in both production and consumption of goods, we feel we have an even greater responsibility to take urgent action to protect natural resources. As society increasingly faces up to the challenges of climate change and our collective responsibility for the environment, consumers expect packaging to be more and more sustainable. Our Jokey Eco Concept is delivering the right responses to these challenges.

Mitglied seit: 01/2020

Aktiv in: AG1, AG2

www.jokey.com

Jokey SE

Die Jokey Group ist ein Unternehmen der Kunststoff verarbeitenden Industrie mit Sitz in Wipperfürth. Im Bereich Kunststoffverpackungen gehört das 1968 gegründete Familienunternehmen zu den international führenden Herstellern. Jokey fertigt nachhaltige Verpackungen an 15 Standorten in 12 Länder und bietet branchenspezifische Verpackungslösungen für Abfüller von Food und Non-Food. Ein eigenes Werkzeugbauunternehmen, ein Geschäftsbereich für technische Kunststoffteile sowie für Badezimmermöbel runden die Kunststoffkompetenz ab. Seit den Anfängen sieht sich Jokey in der Verantwortung, das ökologische Profil von Kunststoffverpackungen und die Nachhaltigkeit entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette immer weiter zu verbessern. Dies zeigt sich unter anderem in der konsequenten Weiterentwicklung des Jokey Eco Concepts.

Das Ziel der Prevent Waste Alliance entspricht unserer nachhaltigen Unternehmensphilosophie bei Jokey. Mit unserem Beitritt zu dieser Initiative schreiben wir unser Jokey Eco Concept fort, indem wir aktiv Produktverantwortung übernehmen. Unser langjähriges Expertenwissen wollen wir da einsetzen, wo Nachhaltigkeit entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette gestaltet und verbessert werden kann. Dies kann aus unserer Sicht nur gelingen, wenn sich verantwortliche Akteure aus Industrie, Handel und Politik zusammenschließen, um weltweit die Entwicklung von Sammelsystemen mit dem Ziel geschlossener Wertstoffkreisläufe voranzutreiben.

Für uns bedeutet Kreislaufwirtschaft den Wiedereinsatz von Post-Consumer-Rezyklaten als hochwertige Rohstoffe in originären Verpackungsprodukten. Bereits seit Anfang der 1990er Jahren verarbeiten wir deshalb bei Jokey Sekundärrohstoffe aus haushaltsnahen Wertstoffsammlungen zu neuen Verpackungen der Non-Food-Branchen. Sie sind heute selbstverständlicher Bestandteil des Jokey Eco Concepts in der gesamten Unternehmensgruppe. Mit Blick auf die weltweite Entwicklung von Konsum und Produktion sehen wir es als dringliche Aufgabe an, den Ressourcenschutz weiter zu stärken. Angesichts der Auseinandersetzung rund um Klimawandel und ökologische Verantwortung steigen auch die Ansprüche der Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher an die Nachhaltigkeit von Verpackungen. Unser Jokey Eco Concept liefert hier die richtigen Antworten.