Member since: 08/2019

Active in: WG1, WG2

www.help-ev.de

Help e.V. – Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe

"Help - Help zur Selbsthilfe" is a German aid organisation that has been supporting people in need quickly, sustainably and on a long-term basis since 1981. The guidelines of the work of Help result from the statutory tasks of the association and are more closely defined by the vision and mission of our aid organization. Our vision is a world in which need, poverty and social injustice are overcome and all people can master their lives independently and live in dignity, peace and security. Helping people to help themselves determines our actions. We support the efforts of people who are threatened or affected by crises. Help secures livelihoods, improves living conditions and strengthens the resilience of people in need worldwide. We help environmentally conscious and independent of gender, ethnicity, religion, political opinion or sexual orientation. In this way, we contribute to a sustainable change in the sense of our vision. Following our motto "Helping people to help themselves", we initiate programs in our project countries that enable communities to become active for a future worth living. Whether the establishment of recycling centres, the upgrading of plastic waste to useful end products or educational campaigns at schools - environmental relief and income-generating measures go hand-in-hand.

We can only succeed in creating a future for mankind and our environment if people take responsibility for protecting their environment. Particularly in the developing world, there is often a lack of functioning waste disposal systems, and people are often unaware of the negative impact careless waste disposal can have on health and the ecosystem. Plastic bags are handed out for free on every street corner and waste is just dumped anywhere at legal or illegal landfill sites. Children can be seen playing in the rubbish while the hungry scavenge for any leftovers they can use. Meanwhile, poisonous gases contaminate whole districts, putting people’s lives in danger. The fact that many people have no means of protecting themselves against harmful substances being disposed of in the immediate vicinity of their homes also causes significant health and environmental damage. Particularly for the poorest people in our society, waste is gradually destroying livelihoods – and our planet, too. We want to put a stop to this destruction.
It is precisely the people most affected by the major side-effects of the global waste industry that could benefit most from new jobs created by avoiding, collecting, processing and re-using so-called ‘rubbish’.
The more people can re-use waste and turn it into a resource, the more effectively we will be able to close the product cycles for plastics or electrical waste. Help wants to engage in this forum to encourage participatory, innovative solutions that can help people in need.

As a humanitarian organisation, this is the first time we have been involved in recycling processes across entire regions. However, we do have experience of developing a range of recycling initiatives for people in poverty. Our projects give these people an income and raise their awareness of issues surrounding waste prevention and recycling. We compliment this kind of small-scale economic assistance by offering training on subjects including business planning, accountancy and more.
As far as waste prevention is concerned, we are also working to reduce the amount of packaging used as part of emergency aid operations, which often involve distributing individual goods at short notice. Over the last year, approaches to recycling have become a much more important cross-cutting issue for our organisation. To reflect this, all new draft programmes in our Livelihood division are now assessed to see whether they can incorporate recycling initiatives. We are also developing a capital campaign aimed at attracting donors for waste reuse and recycling schemes in Indonesia, Iraq and West Africa.

Mitglied seit: 08/2019

Aktiv in: AG Plastik

www.help-ev.de

Help e.V. – Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe

„Help – Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe“ ist eine deutsche Hilfsorganisation, die seit 1981 weltweit Menschen in Not schnell, nachhaltig und langfristig unterstützt. Die Leitlinien der Arbeit von Help ergeben sich aus den satzungsgemäßen Aufgaben des Vereins und werden näher definiert durch Vision und Mission unserer Hilfsorganisation. Unsere Vision ist eine Welt, in der Not, Armut und soziale Ungerechtigkeit überwunden sind und alle Menschen ihr Leben eigenständig meistern und in Würde, Frieden und Sicherheit selbstbestimmt leben können. Die Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe bestimmt unser Handeln. Wir unterstützen die eigenen Anstrengungen von Menschen, die von Krisen bedroht oder betroffen sind. Help sichert Lebensgrundlagen, verbessert die Lebensumstände und stärkt die Resilienz in Not geratener Menschen weltweit. Wir helfen umweltbewusst und unabhängig von Geschlecht, Ethnie, Religion, politischer Anschauung oder sexueller Orientierung. Dadurch leisten wir einen Beitrag zu nachhaltigem Wandel im Sinne unserer Vision. Getreu unserem Motto „Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe“ initiieren wir in unseren Projektländern Programme, die Gemeinschaften dazu befähigen, für eine lebenswerte Zukunft aktiv zu werden. Ob Gründung von Recyclingzentren, die Aufwertung von Plastikmüll zu nützlichen Endprodukten oder Aufklärungskampagnen an Schulen – Entlastung der Umwelt und Einkommen schaffende Maßnahmen gehen hierbei Hand in Hand.

Eine Zukunft für Mensch und Umwelt zu schaffen kann nur gelingen, indem Menschen Verantwortung für den Schutz ihrer Umwelt übernehmen. Besonders in Entwicklungsländern gibt es häufig keine funktionierenden Abfallentsorgungssysteme und die Menschen wissen teilweise nicht, welche Folgen achtlos entsorgter Müll für Gesundheit und Ökosystem haben kann; Plastiktüten werden an jeder Ecke verschenkt, Müll wird einfach irgendwo abgeladen, auf legalen als auch illegalen Müllhalden. Kinder spielen im Müll, Hungernde suchen nach brauchbaren Resten, giftige Gase verseuchen ganze Stadtteile und gefährden das Leben der Menschen. Auch, dass viele Menschen sich nicht vor der Entsorgung von Schadstoffen in unmittelbarer Nähe ihres Wohnraums schützen können, trägt zu erheblicher Schädigung von Gesundheit und Umwelt bei. Der Müll zerstört so nach und nach die Lebensgrundlagen insbesondere der ärmsten Bevölkerungsgruppen und schließlich unseren Planeten. Dem möchten wir auch im Rahmen unserer Arbeit entgegenwirken.
Wenn die Vermeidung, Sammlung, Aufbereitung und Wiederverwendung von vermeintlichem Müll neue Lebensgrundlagen schaffen kann, dann sollte dies denjenigen Menschen zu Gute kommen, die am meisten von den gravierenden Nebenwirkungen der globalen Müllproduktion betroffen sind.
Je mehr Menschen von der Wiederverwertung von Müll profitieren und Müll somit zu einer Ressource wird, desto wirkungsvoller lassen sich die Verwertungskreisläufe von Plastik oder Elektroschrott schließen. Für partizipative, innovative Lösungen, die bedürftigen Haushalten zu Gute kommen, möchte Help sich in diesem Gremium einsetzen.

Als humanitäre Hilfsorganisation sind wir bisher nicht aktiv in Recyclingprozesse ganzer Regionen involviert. Wir erarbeiten aber mit und für bedürftige/n Bevölkerungsgruppen in diversen Projekten Recyclingprogramme, die diesen Menschen ein Einkommen sichert und sie für das Thema Müllvermeidung und -verwertung sensibilisiert. Solche Maßnahmen der Kleinwirtschaftshilfe werden von uns mit Trainings wie zum Beispiel Businessplanentwicklung, Buchhaltung, etc. kombiniert.
Hinsichtlich der Müllvermeidung arbeiten wir auch darauf hin den Einsatz von Verpackungsmaterial im Rahmen von Nothilfemaßnahmen, die oft mit kurzfristigen Verteilungen von Einzelgütern verbunden sind, zu minimieren. Als Querschnittsthema haben Recyclingansätze innerhalb des letzten Jahres in unserer Organisation erheblich an Bedeutung gewonnen. So werden inzwischen alle neuen Programmentwürfe im Bereich Livelihood auf Möglichkeiten zur Integration von Recyclingmaßnahmen geprüft. Auch wird zurzeit eine Capital Campaign entwickelt, die zum Ziel hat unterschiedliche Geber für Programme der Müllverwertung in Indonesien, Irak und Westafrika zu gewinnen.