Member since: 07/2020

Active in: AG1, AG2, AG4

www.thegripe.org

Ghana Recycling Initiative by Private Enterprises (GRIPE)

The Ghana Recycling Initiative by Private Enterprises (GRIPE) is an industry-led coalition formed under the Association of Ghana Industries (AGI) by companies in the plastic value chain to integrate sustainable waste management solutions in Ghana, particularly around plastics. GRIPE was founded in November 2017 by 8 multinational companies: Coca-Cola Bottling Company of Ghana; Dow; Fan Milk Ghana Limited; Guinness Ghana Breweries Limited; Nestlé Ghana Limited; PZ Cussons Ghana Limited; Unilever Ghana and Voltic (GH) Limited. Currently the membership has grown to include the Mohinani Group, Accra Brewery Limited, KGM Industries, Fine Pack Industries and Pernod Ricard Ghana. GRIPE looks to provide sustainable plastic waste management solutions to the plastic waste challenge in Ghana focusing on four key areas: Collection & Second-life solutions, Multi-stakeholder collaboration, Education & Awareness and Data & Research.

As GRIPE, we believe that working towards a circular economy requires collaborative efforts to allow for co-creation of solutions therefore we are committed to building sustainable and solid partnerships with a range of organizations. It is for this reason that we have decided to become a member of PREVENT.

To us a circular economy is a system that moves away from the current make-use-dispose model to one where we have designed out waste and pollution, are able to keep products and materials in use, and regenerate natural systems. A circular economy is not a nice to have but a necessity if we are going to develop sustainably. Since the launch of GRIPE, we have been following national, regional and international discussions on how to move towards a more circular economy. As manufacturers and producers, we are constantly adapting the way that our products are being designed, produced and transported to allow for an increase in packaging re-design, reuse and recycling

Mitglied seit: 07/2020

Aktiv in: WG1, WG2, WG4

www.thegripe.org

Ghana Recycling Initiative by Private Enterprises (GRIPE)

Die Ghana Recycling Initiative by Private Enterprises (GRIPE) ist eine von der Industrie geführte Koalition, die unter der Association of Ghana Industries (AGI) von Unternehmen der Kunststoff-Wertschöpfungskette gegründet wurde, um nachhaltige Lösungen für die Abfallwirtschaft in Ghana, insbesondere im Bereich der Kunststoffe, zu integrieren. GRIPE wurde im November 2017 von 8 multinationalen Unternehmen gegründet: Coca-Cola Bottling Company of Ghana; Dow; Fan Milk Ghana Limited; Guinness Ghana Breweries Limited; Nestlé Ghana Limited; PZ Cussons Ghana Limited; Unilever Ghana und Voltic (GH) Limited. Gegenwärtig ist die Mitgliedschaft auf die Mohinani-Gruppe, Accra Brewery Limited, KGM Industries, Fine Pack Industries und Pernod Ricard Ghana angewachsen. GRIPE’s Ziel ist es nachhaltige Lösungen für die Entsorgung von Kunststoffabfällen in Ghana zu finden. Dabei konzentriert sich die Initiative auf vier Schlüsselbereiche: Sammlung und Second-Life-Lösungen, Multi-Akteurs-Partnerschaften, Bildung und Bewusstsein sowie Daten und Forschung.

Als GRIPE glauben wir, dass das Streben nach einer zirkulären Wirtschaft gemeinsames Handeln erfordert, um die Erarbeitung von Lösungen zu ermöglichen. Daher verpflichten wir uns, nachhaltige und solide Partnerschaften mit einer Bandbreite von Organisationen aufzubauen. Aus diesem Grund haben wir beschlossen, Mitglied von PREVENT zu werden.

Für uns ist Kreislaufwirtschaft ein System, das sich vom derzeitigen linearen Modell der Herstellung, Nutzung und Entsorgung zu einem System entwickelt, in dem wir Abfall und Umweltverschmutzung vermeiden, Produkte und Materialien wiederverwerten und sich natürliche Systeme regenerieren können. Eine Kreislaufwirtschaft ist keine schöne Sache, sondern eine Notwendigkeit, wenn wir uns nachhaltig entwickeln wollen. Seit der Gründung von GRIPE haben wir nationale, regionale und internationale Diskussionen darüber verfolgt, wie wir uns zu einer Kreislaufwirtschaft entwickeln können. Als Hersteller und Produzenten passen wir die Art und Weise, wie unsere Produkte entworfen, produziert und transportiert werden ständig an, um Re-Design, Wiederverwendung und Recycling von Verpackungen zu ermöglichen.