Member since: 11/2019

Active in: WG Plastics

www.ecologic.eu

ecologic Institut

Ecologic Institute conducts inter- and transdisciplinary environmental research. In addition, the institute's scientists* prepare policy analyses and provide advisory. Ecologic Institute has offices in Berlin, Brussels and Washington DC. As a private, independent institute, Ecologic Institute is dedicated to working on relevant socio-political issues of sustainability research. Innovative research approaches, practical orientation and a transdisciplinary approach ensure the excellent scientific quality and social relevance of Ecologic Institute's work. It covers the entire spectrum of environmental topics, including the integration of environmental concerns into other policy fields. An important topic of the Ecologic Institute is resource conservation and circular economy.

As the top level of the waste hierarchy, waste prevention is often not given enough attention in public and political discourse. A platform like the PREVENT Waste Alliance can play a valuable role in raising awareness and strengthening cooperation on waste prevention, across diverse stakeholder groups and regional contexts. As a member, Ecologic Institute looks forward to contributing to the debate with its applied scientific and policy expertise. In addition, Ecologic Institute looks forward to expanding existing networks and building new partnerships to promote a comprehensive circular economy where waste prevention is an indispensable element.

Circular Economy is a comprehensive concept that integrates environmental, economic and social aspects and envisions a maximum usability of materials and energy in the lifecycle of products and services.
It is indispensable for conserving the finite resources of our planet and for combating climate change. The waste hierarchy is pivotal to the achievement of a circular economy because preventing waste and reusing/preparing for reuse are key components of maintaining materials and products, as well as their energetic and economic value for as long as possible in the economy.

Mitglied seit: 11/2019

Aktiv in: AG Plastik

www.ecologic.eu

ecologic Institut

Ecologic Institut betreibt inter- und transdisziplinäre Umweltforschung. Darüber hinaus erstellen die Wissenschaftler*innen des Instituts Politikanalysen und sind beratend tätig. Ecologic Institut hat Büros in Berlin, Brüssel und Washington DC. Als privates, unabhängiges Institut widmet sich Ecologic Institut der Aufgabe, relevante gesellschaftspolitische Fragestellungen der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung zu bearbeiten. Innovative Forschungsansätze, die Praxisorientierung und eine transdisziplinäre Arbeitsweise sichern die wissenschaftlich exzellente Qualität und gesellschaftliche Relevanz der Arbeit des Ecologic Instituts. Sie umfasst das gesamte Spektrum von Umweltthemen einschließlich der Integration von Umweltbelangen in andere Politikfelder. Ein wichtiges Themengebiet des Ecologic Institut ist Ressourcenschonung und zirkuläres Wirtschaften (circular economy).

Als oberste Stufe der Abfallhierarchie wird die Abfallvermeidung im öffentlichen und auch im politische Diskurs oft zu wenig beachtet. Eine Plattform wie die PREVENT Waste Alliance kann eine wertvolle Rolle bei der Sensibilisierung und Stärkung von Bewusstsein und Zusammenarbeit zur Abfallvermeidung spielen, über vielfältige Stakeholdergruppen und auch regionale Kontexte hinweg. Als Mitglied freut sich das Ecologic Institut darauf, mit seinem angewandten wissenschaftlichen und politischen Fachwissen zur Debatte beizutragen. Darüber hinaus freut sich das Ecologic Institut auf den Ausbau bestehender Netzwerke und den Aufbau neuer Partnerschaften, um eine umfassende Kreislaufwirtschaft voranzutreiben, bei der die Abfallvermeidung ein unverzichtbares Element ist.

Circular Economy ist ein umfassendes Konzept, das ökologische, wirtschaftliche und soziale Aspekte integriert und eine maximale Nutzbarkeit von Materialien und Energie im Lebenszyklus von Produkten und Dienstleistungen vorsieht.
Sie ist unerlässlich für die Erhaltung der endlichen Ressourcen unseres Planeten und für die Bekämpfung des Klimawandels. Die Abfallhierarchie ist für die Erreichung einer zirkulären Wirtschaft (Circular Economy) von entscheidender Bedeutung, denn die Vermeidung von Abfall und die Wiederverwendung/Vorbereitung zur Wiederverwendung sind Schlüsselkomponenten, um Materialien und Produkte, sowie deren energetisches und wirtschaftliches Potenzial so lange wie möglich in der Wirtschaft zu erhalten.