Member since: 09/2019

Active in: WG4

www.landkreistag.de

Deutscher Landkreistag

The German County Association (Deutsche Landkreistag – DLT) is the association of the 294 German federal administrative districts. Its direct members are the county associations of the 13 states, which lobby for local concerns in their respective state. It represents three quarters of the local authorities, around 96% of the surface area of Germany and, with 55 million inhabitants, 68% of the German population. The central municipal association represents the interests of rural areas in particular and is concerned with ensuring that these areas have the necessary conditions for economic development. One particular area that the German County Association focuses on here is safeguarding and establishing equal living, supply, working and development conditions in relation to urban areas. Rural areas with their medium-sized companies, strong local savings banks and capable local self-government make an important contribution to Germany's economic strength and stability.

As public waste disposal authorities, the administrative districts have a range of duties in waste disposal and recycling. They organise the collection and recycling of household waste and run civic amenity sites, waste disposal facilities and landfills. They also provide advice and information on topics such as waste prevention, correct waste separation and recycling and are therefore their residents’ first point of contact for any questions regarding waste disposal. At the same time, the administrative districts are increasingly getting involved in public-sector development cooperation work and are working with local authorities in developing and newly industrialised countries. Besides climate protection, this cooperation work focuses on waste disposal and recycling in particular. The German County Association supports this commitment by the administrative districts by providing information and facilitating networking. The Waste Alliance offers new opportunities in this area.

In its capacity as a central municipal association, the German County Association strives to promote the concept of a circular economy in rural areas. This applies not only to waste management, but also to areas such as energy supply, construction, agriculture and forestry. Our vision is for as many resources as possible to be re-used as part of a cycle, thereby enabling regional value creation potential to be exploited in the administrative districts. With this in mind, the German County Association demanded an immediate ban on the export of unsorted plastic waste, particularly to developing and newly industrialised countries, in September 2019. Instead of plastic waste being exported to these countries, where, in the worst-case scenario, it ends up polluting the oceans, the waste management expertise that exists in Germany should be shared – and the administrative districts can play an important role in this.

Mitglied seit: 09/2019

Aktiv in: AG4

www.landkreistag.de

Deutscher Landkreistag

Der Deutsche Landkreistag (DLT) ist der Zusammenschluss der 294 deutschen Landkreise auf Bundesebene. Seine unmittelbaren Mitglieder sind die Landkreistage der 13 Flächenländer, die sich für die Kommunalbelange in ihrem jeweiligen Bundesland einsetzen. Er vertritt drei Viertel der kommunalen Aufgabenträger, rund 96 % der Fläche und mit 55. Mio. Einwohnern 68 % der Bevölkerung Deutschlands. Der kommunale Spitzenverband setzt sich insbesondere für die Belange der ländlichen Räume und die Förderung der diesbezüglichen wirtschaftlichen Entwicklungsbedingungen ein. Ein Arbeitsschwerpunkt des Deutschen Landkreistages liegt hier in der Sicherung und Herstellung gleichwertiger Lebens-, Versorgungs-, Arbeits- und Entwicklungsbedingungen im Verhältnis zum städtischen Bereich. Die ländlichen Räume mit ihren mittelständischen Unternehmen, starken Sparkassen vor Ort und einer handlungsfähigen kommunalen Selbstverwaltung tragen entscheidend zu Deutschlands ökonomischer Stärke und Stabilität bei.

Die Landkreise haben als öffentlich-rechtliche Entsorgungsträger vielfältige Aufgaben in den Bereichen Abfallentsorgung und -recycling. Sie organisieren die Sammlung und Verwertung von Haushaltsabfällen, sie betreiben Wertstoffhöfe, Abfallentsorgungsanlagen und Deponien. Darüber hinaus bieten sie Beratung und Informationen zu Themen wie Abfallvermeidung, richtige Abfalltrennung und Recycling und sind damit erster Ansprechpartner ihrer Einwohner für alle Fragen rund um die Abfallentsorgung. Gleichzeitig engagieren sich immer mehr Landkreise im Bereich der kommunalen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und treten in den Aus-tausch mit Kommunen in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern. Neben Fragen des Klima-schutzes steht dabei insbesondere der Bereich der Abfallentsorgung und des -recyclings im Mittelpunkt. Dieses Engagement der Landkreise unterstützt der Deutsche Landkreistag aktiv durch Information und Vernetzung. Die Abfallallianz bietet hierfür neue Möglichkeiten.

Der Deutsche Landkreistag ist bestrebt, ihm Rahmen seiner Tätigkeit als kommunaler Spitzenverband das Thema Kreislaufwirtschaft im ländlichen Raum zu befördern. Dies gilt nicht nur für die Abfallwirtschaft, sondern beispielsweise auch für die Energieversorgung, das Bauwesen oder die Land- und Forstwirtschaft. Unsere Vorstellung ist, dass möglichst viele Ressourcen im Kreislauf geführt und dabei regionale Wertschöpfungspotenziale in den Landkreisen genutzt werden. Vor diesem Hintergrund hat der Deutsche Landkreistag im September 2019 einen sofortigen Exportstopp von unsortiertem Plastikmüll vor allem in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländer gefordert. “Anstatt den eigenen Plastikmüll in diese Länder zu ex-portieren, wo er schlimmstenfalls zur Verschmutzung der Meere beiträgt, sollte besser das in Deutschland vorhandene abfallwirtschaftliche Know-how weitergegeben werden, wozu die Landkreise einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten können.”