Member since: 05/2019

Active in: AG4

www.dihk.de

Deutscher Industrie- und Handelskammertag

The Association of German Chambers of Commerce and Industry (DIHK) is charged with representing the interests of Germany's commercial companies in discussions with decision-makers at both national and European level, acting on behalf of and in conjunction with local German Chambers of Commerce and Industry. It is supported in this activity by DIHK Service GmbH, a wholly-owned subsidiary of the DIHK that acts as its project delivery arm. In contrast to other business organisations (and particularly to industry-specific associations), the DIHK can count on broad-based support: 3.6 million commercial companies, of all sizes and representing every sector of the economy, are statutory members of their local Chambers of Commerce and Industry. The DIHK is obliged to balance the interests of all its members, meaning that it acts independently of individual interests and enjoys a strong negotiation position in its dealings with politicians, authorities and institutions. The local Chambers of Commerce and Industry act as independent public corporations. They are responsible for managing the collective interests of their members and representing them to local authorities, the governments of Germany's federal states, political decision-makers and the general public. The German Chambers of Commerce Overseas promote German industry's external trading relationships from 140 offices in 92 countries.

Protecting our environment, climate and resources is one of the great global challenges of our time. Developing countries and emerging economies are facing particular challenges in tackling water, soil and air pollution, as well as water shortages and increasing quantities of waste. ‘Green’ technologies, processes and products – areas in which German companies have world-leading expertise and can call on a broad range of knowledge and experience – can help to meet these challenges. Committing to better environmental and climate protection systems therefore also represents an opportunity to increase revenues from German environmental technology abroad.
The network of German Chambers of Commerce and Industry is working to promote technology and knowledge transfer through a range of projects. For bilateral and multilateral projects, a strong network is key. With their contacts and local expertise, the German Chambers of Commerce Overseas are the first port of call for companies looking to develop their presence in foreign markets – and nowhere more so than in growth markets like environmental technology.
The PREVENT Waste Alliance brings together stakeholders and subject matter experts all along the ‘value chain’ of the circular economy. By working together with partners in Germany and beyond, it can help to identify environmental problems and requirements, and come up with potential solutions. This allows us to find and implement projects that contribute to improving the environment all over the world, at the same time as raising the profile of green technology ‘Made in Germany’.

Promoting a circular economy has been an important part of German environmental policy for decades, making it business-as-usual for the DIHK and local Chambers of Commerce and Industry. In all of Germany’s 79 local Chambers of Commerce and Industry, our staff provide their member companies with support on waste and energy management, certification, and German and European legislation, among a range of other issues. Promoting professional education and training on environmental issues is another key pillar of their work. Our local Chambers of Commerce and Industry also count a number of companies from the environmental sector and other related industries among their members. These firms are interested in establishing reliable frameworks in the German market and beyond, and can provide expertise to partners in Germany and overseas. This means that the circular economy is a key topic for us from a number of angles, which is one reason why we support efforts to drive forward long-term engagement on waste management issues within multilateral fora and networks like PREVENT.

Mitglied seit: 05/2019

Aktiv in: AG Rahmenbedingungen

www.dihk.de

Deutscher Industrie- und Handelskammertag

Der Deutsche Industrie- und Handelskammertag (DIHK) übernimmt als Dachorganisation im Auftrag und in Abstimmung mit den Industrie- und Handelskammern (IHKs) die Interessenvertretung der gewerblichen deutschen Wirtschaft gegenüber den Entscheidern der Bundespolitik und den europäischen Institutionen. Unterstützung leistet dabei die Projektgesellschaft DIHK Service GmbH. Im Unterschied zu anderen Organisationen der Wirtschaft, besonders den Branchenverbänden, kann sich der DIHK dabei auf eine breite Grundlage stützen: 3,6 Millionen gewerbliche Unternehmen aller Branchen und Größenklassen sind gesetzliche Mitglieder der IHKs. Der dadurch notwendige Ausgleich der Interessen macht den DIHK unabhängig von Einzelinteressen und schafft ein besonderes Gewicht gegenüber Politik, Behörden und Institutionen. Die Industrie- und Handelskammern (IHKs) nehmen als eigenverantwortliche öffentlich-rechtliche Körperschaften der wirtschaftlichen Selbstverwaltung das Gesamtinteresse der ihnen zugehörigen Unternehmen gegenüber Kommunen, Landesregierungen sowie Politik und Öffentlichkeit wahr. Die Deutschen Auslandshandelskammern (AHKs) fördern die außenwirtschaftlichen Beziehungen der deutschen Wirtschaft an 140 Standorten in 92 Ländern weltweit.

Umwelt-, Klima- und Ressourcenschutz gehören zu den großen globalen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Gerade Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländer kämpfen mit Gewässer-, Boden- und Luftverschmutzung, mit Wasserknappheit und wachsenden Abfallmengen. Einen Beitrag zur Bewältigung dieser Herausforderungen leisten „grüne“ Technologien, Verfahren und Produkte – Bereiche, in denen deutsche Unternehmen exzellent aufgestellt sind und auf eine breite Wissens- und Erfahrungsbasis zurückgreifen können. Deshalb verbessert der Einsatz für mehr Umwelt- und Klimaschutz zugleich Absatzchancen im Ausland für deutsche Umwelttechnologien.
In verschiedenen Projekten setzt sich das deutsche Kammernetz für die Förderung von Technologie- und Know-how-Transfer ein. Bei bilateralen und multilateralen Projekten ist ein starkes Netzwerk wichtig. Die deutschen Auslandshandelskammern sind durch ihre Kontakte und ihre Expertise vor Ort die ersten Ansprechpartner für Marktentwicklungen und -potenziale im Ausland. Dies gilt insbesondere für wachsende Märkte wie den der Umwelttechnologien.
In der PREVENT Abfall Allianz kommen Stakeholder und Wissensträger entlang der „Wertschöpfungskette“ der Kreislaufwirtschaft zusammen. Gemeinsam mit Partnern aus In- und Ausland können Umweltprobleme und Bedarfe konkretisiert sowie Lösungsmöglichkeiten aufgezeigt werden. So können Projekte identifiziert und umgesetzt werden, in denen dazu beigetragen wird, weltweit Umweltbedingungen zu verbessern und gleichzeitig die Sichtbarkeit für GreenTech „Made in Germany“ zu erhöhen.

Die Förderung einer Kreislaufwirtschaft ist in Deutschland seit Jahrzehnten ein wichtiger Teil der Umweltpolitik und damit auch Tagesgeschäft für DIHK und IHKs. In 79 Kammern in Deutschland unterstützen Kolleginnen und Kollegen ihre Mitgliedsunternehmen (u.a.) in den Themen Abfall- und Energiemanagement, Zertifizierungen und im Umgang mit nationaler und europäischer Gesetzgebung. Die Förderung beruflicher Bildung und Weiterbildungen im Umweltbereich sind weitere wichtige Standbeine der Kammerarbeit. Darüber hinaus finden sich unter den Mitgliedern der IHKs viele Unternehmen aus dem Abfallsektor und angrenzenden Branchen, für die neben national verlässlichen Rahmenbedingungen auch internationale Märkte von Interesse sind und von deren Expertise auch Partner in anderen Ländern profitieren können. Daher ist für uns Kreislaufwirtschaft aus gleich mehreren Perspektiven von großem Interesse und wir unterstützen Bestrebungen, im Rahmen von Multiakteurspartnerschaften und -netzwerken wie PREVENT nachhaltiges Engagement im Thema Abfallmanagement voranzutreiben.