Member since: 06/2019

Active in: WG2

www.coca-cola-deutschland.de

Coca Cola GmbH

Coca-Cola has been represented in Germany since 1929 and today sells around 80 different non-alcoholic beverages here. These include sugar-containing and sugar-free soft drinks, teas, juice spritzers, sports drinks and various mineral waters. In addition to the well-known brands Coca-Cola, Fanta, Sprite and MezzoMix, these also include brands such as ViO, ViO Bio Limo, ViO Schorle from local fruits, Apollinaris, Powerade, Honest, Aquarius, Lift, Sodenthaler or Heppinger. Coca-Cola offers at least one sugar- and calorie-free alternative to almost every drink containing sugar. One of The Coca-Cola Company's basic principles is to produce locally worldwide. In Germany, there are a total of 35 sales locations, 16 of which have bottling plants, in all parts of Germany. Approximately 99 percent of the beverages sold by Coca-Cola in Germany are produced and bottled here. A total of 8,000 women and men work for Coca-Cola Germany, and the company also secures a further 100,000 jobs throughout the supply chain.

The Coca-Cola Company has set a target of recovering and reusing one bottle for every bottle we bring to market by 2030. After all, we have to stop our packaging from polluting the ocean or the countryside, or ending up in landfill. Thanks to Germany’s deposit system for drinks containers, we have all but achieved this target already for the German market, and other countries have national deposit systems or local collection facilities of their own. However, many countries still lack collection systems for used materials, meaning there are major challenges still to be overcome. The experience we have gained in Germany can help us to meet these challenges. Ideally, both deposit-based and local collection systems should be equipped to handle as many different materials and types of packaging as possible. Germany has been a pioneer in this area and gained a wealth of experience, both positive and negative. Prevent can make use of this experience to organise the transfer of knowledge to other countries, so that these countries can develop and operate their own functioning and viable collection systems to reflect their local conditions. We want to use our know-how and worldwide network to contribute to this knowledge transfer.

For us, circular economy means recovering all the packaging we put on the market so that it can be reused or recycled into new packaging. Coca-Cola started Germany’s deposit-based system for soft drinks containers back in 1929. Today it is Germany’s largest operator of systems for returning packaging; the proportion of our packaging that is returned is well above the average for the soft drinks market. Much of our non-returnable packaging also comes back as part of the deposit system, which covers 99.9% of our packaging. Non-returnable packaging is recycled, after which it can be used for a variety of purposes. However, our aim is to use as much of the recycled packaging as possible to produce new drinks containers, and we’ve been doing it with our glass bottles and drinks cans for decades. We already use 33 per cent recycled material in our non-returnable PET bottles too, and we want to increase that figure to 50 per cent by 2025. However, there is currently a shortage of recycled PET suitable for use in the food industry, because the collected and sorted PET in the deposit system is also in high demand in other industries. Finally, we are also implementing the principle of the circular economy in our production processes. Thanks to an efficient separation system, our flagship plant at Genshagen in Germany already recycles 99 per cent of all waste materials generated during production; we have already rolled out the same system to a number of other sites.

Mitglied seit: 06/2019

Aktiv in: AG Plastik

www.coca-cola-deutschland.de

Coca Cola GmbH

Seit 1929 ist Coca-Cola in Deutschland vertreten und vertreibt hier heute rund 80 verschiedenen alkoholfreien Getränke an. Dazu gehören nehmen zuckerhaltigen und zuckerfreien Erfrischungsgetränken auch Tees, Saftschorlen, Sportgetränke und verschiedene Mineralwasser. Neben den bekannten Marken Coca-Cola, Fanta, Sprite und MezzoMix gehören dazu auch Marken wie ViO, ViO Bio Limo, ViO Schorle aus heimischen Früchten, Apollinaris, Powerade, Honest, Aquarius, Lift, Sodenthaler oder Heppinger. Zu nahezu jedem zuckerhaltigen Getränk bietet Coca-Cola mindestens eine zucker- und kalorienfreie Alternative an. Ein Grundprinzip von The Coca-Cola Company ist es, weltweit lokal zu produzieren. In Deutschland gibt es insgesamt 35 Vertriebsstandorte, davon 16 mit Abfüllanlage, in allen Teilen Deutschlands. Hier werden ca. 99 Prozent der Getränke hergestellt und abgefüllt, die Coca-Cola in Deutschland verkauft. Insgesamt arbeiten 8.000 Frauen und Männer bei Coca-Cola Deutschland, zudem sichert die Firma weitere 100.000 Stellen in der gesamten Lieferkette.

Die The Coca-Cola Company hat sich vorgenommen bis 2030 zu erreichen, ab 2030 für jede Flasche, die wir weltweit auf den Markt bringen, eine Flasche zurück zu nehmen und das Material erneut zu verwenden. Denn keine unserer Verpackungen soll im Meer, in der Landschaft oder auf Mülldeponien landen. In Deutschland ist dieses Ziel seit vielen Jahren aufgrund des Pfandsystems für Getränkeverpackungen nahezu erfüllt. Auch in einigen anderen Ländern gibt es nationale Pfandsystem oder haushaltsnahe Rücknahmesysteme. Dennoch gibt es noch in vielen Ländern keine Sammelsysteme für gebrauchte Wertstoffe und damit große Herausforderungen. Hier können wir mit unseren Erfahrungen aus Deutschland helfen. Sowohl Pfand- als auch haushaltsnahe Sammelsysteme sollten immer möglichst viele bzw. alle Verpackungen und Wertstoffe erfassen. Deutschland hat hier Pionierarbeit geleistet und dabei viele Erfahrungen gesammelt, gute wie auch weniger gute. Auf Basis dieser Erfahrungen kann Prevent Wissenstransfer in andere Länder organisieren, so dass diese Länder dann entsprechend ihrer lokalen Gegebenheiten eigene, funktionierende und sich selbst tragende Erfassungs- und Recyclingsysteme etablieren und betreiben können. Zu diesem Wissenstransfer möchten wir mit unserem Know How und unserem weltweiten Netzwerk beitragen.

Kreislaufwirtschaft bedeutet für uns, dass wir alle Verpackungen, die wir in den Markt bringen, zurückgewinnen, um sie wieder zu befüllen oder zu recyceln und so für neue Verpackungen zu nutzen. Coca-Cola hat 1929 das Mehrwegpfandsystem für Erfrischungsgetränke in Deutschland begründet und ist heute der größte Mehrweganbieter in Deutschland mit einem Mehrweganteil deutlich über dem Marktdurchschnitt alkoholfreier Erfrischungsgetränke. Unsere Einweggetränkeverpackungen kommen ebenfalls über das Pfandsystem zurück. Insgesamt sind 99,9 Prozent unserer Verpackungen bepfandet. Einwegpfandverpackungen werden recycelt und finden vielfältige Einsatzzwecke. Unser Ziel ist es jedoch, dass wir das Material alter Getränkeverpackungen vor allem für die Herstellung neuer Getränkeverpackungen nutzen können. Das ist bei Glasverpackungen und bei Getränkedosen seit Jahrzehnten der Fall. Bei der Herstellung unseren Einweg-PET-Flaschen setzen wir heute bereits 33 Prozent recyceltes Altmaterial ein. Diesen Anteil wollen wir bis 2025 auf 50 Prozent steigern. Allerdings ist derzeit nicht ausreichend recyceltes Material in lebensmitteltauglicher Qualität verfügbar, da PET aus der sortenreinen Erfassung im Getränkepfandsystem auch von anderen Branchen sehr gefragt ist. Schließlich setzen wir das Prinzip der Kreislaufwirtschaft auch in unserer Produktion um. Durch eine effiziente Trennung können wir im Musterbetrieb Genshagen über 99 Prozent aller Produktionsabfälle stofflich verwerten. Das Konzept wurde mittlerweile auf weitere Standorte ausgedehnt.