Member since: 11/2019

Active in: WG4

www.bonn.de

Bundesstadt Bonn

Bonn is the German city home to the United Nations and a centre of developmental cooperation. Over 20 UN organisations, including the Climate Change Secretariat, are based here. Together with environmental policy organisations, the academic and economic worlds come together here to work on global sustainable development. The Federal City of Bonn has maintained project- and climate-related partnerships with cities in the global south for years now as part of its municipal development cooperative policies. With the first municipal sustainability strategy adopted in 2019, the city is now implementing its 2030 agenda locally and striving for climate neutrality by 2035. Bonn is an active member of numerous city networks and the Mayor of Bonn has been president of ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability since 2018.

The PREVENT Waste Alliance brings together various sectors in the north and south and creates new connections, particularly within the economy. Rapid urbanisation and a scarcity of resources make preventing waste, using it further and recycling objects and raw materials a priority concern. For ICLEI, a circular economy is one of the five pathways to urban sustainable development. Bonn’s sustainability strategy focusses on natural resources and the economy. Within Bonn’s project partnerships, waste management has been designated by our partners as a central concern. As a member of the PREVENT Waste Alliance, Bonn hopes to work with ICLEI and its partners in the global south on innovative, urban solutions.

Circular economy cities are of vital importance globally, as in Bonn. City-owned company BonnOrange, together with its academic partners, recently explored the potential of collecting and sorting valuable raw materials. Responsible and resource-sparing consumption is also part of our commitment to greater climate protection. In 2019, Bonn launched a campaign on the use of returnable cups when selling drinks and joined the Green Circular Cities Coalition, an international network of cities committed to strengthened circular economies. Bonn has also provided second-hand shopping guides and an exchange and gift swapping service for a long time now. These initiatives will be further expanded as part of Bonn’s sustainability strategy.

Mitglied seit: 11/2019

Aktiv in: AG Rahmenbedingungen

www.bonn.de

Bundesstadt Bonn

Bonn ist deutsche Stadt der Vereinten Nationen und Zentrum entwicklungspolitischer Zusammenarbeit. Über 20 UNO-Organisationen, darunter das Klimasekretariat, haben hier ihren Sitz. Gemeinsam mit umweltpolitisch tätigen Organisationen, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft setzen sie sich ein für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung weltweit. Die Stadt Bonn unterhält im Rahmen ihrer kommunalen entwicklungspolitischen Zusammenarbeit seit Jahren Projekt- und Klimapartnerschaften mit Städten im globalen Süden. Mit der 2019 verabschiedeten ersten kommunalen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie setzt sie die Agenda 2030 lokal um und strebt Klimaneutralität bis zum Jahr 2035 an. Bonn ist aktives Mitglied in zahlreichen Städtenetzwerken; der Bonner Oberbürgermeister ist seit 2018 Präsident von ICLEI – Städte für Nachhaltigkeit.

Die PREVENT Abfallallianz verbindet verschiedene Sektoren in Nord wie Süd und schafft neue Verbindungen, vor allem mit der Wirtschaft. Rapide Urbanisierung und knapper werdende Ressourcen machen die Vermeidung von Abfall, die weitere Nutzung oder das Recycling von Gegenständen und Rohstoffen zu einem prioritären Anliegen. Für ICLEI ist Kreislaufwirtschaft einer von fünf Pfaden urbaner nachhaltiger Entwicklung. Die Bonner Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie nimmt natürliche Ressourcen und die Wirtschaft in den Blick. In den Bonner Projektpartnerschaften wird Abfallwirtschaft von unseren Partnern als ein zentrales Anliegen benannt. Als Mitglied der PREVENT Abfallallianz möchte Bonn mit ICLEI und Partnern im globalen Süden an innovativen, urbanen Lösungen arbeiten.

Weltweit kommt in Städten der Kreislaufwirtschaft eine zentrale Bedeutung zu, so auch in Bonn. Gerade erst hat der stadteigene Betrieb BonnOrange gemeinsam mit wissenschaftlichen Partnern Potenziale der Sammlung und Lagerung wertvoller Rohstoffe untersucht. Verantwortungsvoller und ressourcenschonender Konsum ist auch Teil unseres Engagements für mehr Klimaschutz. 2019 lancierte Bonn eine Kampagne für Mehrwegbecher im Getränkeverkauf und trat der Green Circular Cities-Koalition bei, einem internationalen Netzwerk von Städten, die sich für mehr Kreislaufwirtschaft stark machen. Seit langem gibt es in Bonn auch Second Hand Einkaufsführer und eine Tausch- und Verschenkbörse. Im Rahmen der Bonner Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie werden diese Bereiche weiter ausgebaut.