Member since: 05/2019

Active in: WG3

www.blackforest-solutions.com

Black Forest Solutions GmbH

BlackForest Solutions GmbH (BFS) acts as a certified trader and agent for hazardous and non-hazardous waste, as well as a technical consulting unit worldwide. BFS supports companies, governments and NGOs in the areas of recycling and disposal - from individual consulting services for local projects to comprehensive waste management concepts. In addition to the analysis, packaging and transport of hazardous waste, BFS offers project development services for the treatment of municipal waste, WEEE, medical waste and industrial hazardous waste - especially in emerging countries. The BFS team consists of experienced engineers who cover all technical focal points (mechanical engineering, civil engineering, environmental and process engineering, chemical engineering). The head office is in Berlin. BFS is active in 15 languages, has project offices in Rio De Janeiro, Tehran and Kuwait City and thus offers its partners and customers a high degree of technical and cultural flexibility. As project managers in demanding working environments, the BFS team and its specialized partners have already carried out numerous complex projects in the areas of operational waste shipment and technical consulting worldwide. Summary of the most important services: - A-Z Disposal solutions and operational handling for hazardous and non-hazardous waste worldwide - Waste treatment concepts (non-hazardous municipal waste, hazardous industrial waste, WEEE, medical waste) for public authorities, waste disposal companies, private investors - Focus regions: MENA, Latin America, West Africa, Southeast Asia - International project development for waste management companies, plant constructors and local investors

As a member of the Alliance platform, BFS is keen to play a role in shaping a sustainable and large-scale waste management industry. BFS sees the Alliance as an opportunity to network with experts from science and academia and public bodies, as well as with publicly and privately-owned companies from all over the world that are already operating in this area or are interested in waste management solutions. Working through the Working Groups, BFS wants to cooperate with international development organisations to reform waste management policy and provide technical advice, particularly in emerging economies and countries dealing with crises.
BFS is convinced that the Alliance’s Working Group 3 (Collecting and re-using electrical and electronic appliances) can develop sustainable, environmentally-friendly solutions for collecting and handling scrap electrical appliances at national level. With the help of the experts in the Working Group, Germany’s Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development and international IT companies, we can design and support schemes to help developing countries face the challenge of recycling scrap electrical appliances (the fastest growing form of waste across Africa and Asia) using systems based on extended producer responsibility (EPR).

The traditional linear economy operates according to a pattern known as ‘extract-make-use-dispose’. As well as placing an excessive burden on the earth’s scare resources, this approach also undermines its ability to act as a ‘sink’ for waste products. We believe that making the economy as circular as possible is the only way to create a sustainable economy; this is also the aim current EU environmental protection legislation is designed to achieve. Finding, designing and implementing sustainable business models in emerging economies is a key step along the road to this objective. That’s why we are ambassadors for the Open Source Circular Economy Days (or OSCE Days), a global project to encourage the development and use of open-source solutions and practical methods to transform the global economy by making it sustainable and circular. As part of the OSCE Days we have held workshops all over the world, including in Amman, Mumbai, Islamabad, Dubai, Seattle and Buenos Aires. One major step towards a circular economy is being able to recover secondary raw materials from waste. With this in mind, BFS is already supporting a number of projects, including systems to improve recycling of electrical goods at the Agbogbloshie landfill site in Accra, Ghana.
Extended producer responsibility (EPR) is a major part of a functioning circular economy. Implementing this principle forces companies to handle resources more efficiently and operate with a greater awareness of their environmental impact.

Mitglied seit:

Aktiv in: AG3

www.blackforest-solutions.com

Black Forest Solutions GmbH

BlackForest Solutions GmbH (BFS) agiert als geprüfter Händler und Makler für gefährliche und nicht-gefährliche Abfälle, als auch als technische Beratungseinheit weltweit. BFS unterstützt Unternehmen, Regierungen und NGOs zu den Themen Recycling und Entsorgung - von einzelnen Beratungsleistungen für lokale Vorhaben bis hin zu umfangreichen Abfallwirtschaftskonzepten. Neben der Analyse, der Verpackung und dem Transport von gefährlichen Abfällen bietet BFS Projektentwicklungsleistungen für die Behandlung von Siedlungsabfällen, WEEE, medizinischen Abfällen und industriellen Sonderabfällen an - insbesondere in Schwellenländern. Das BFS-Team besteht aus erfahrenen Ingenieuren, die alle technischen Schwerpunkte (Maschinenbau, Bauwesen, Umwelt- und Verfahrenstechnik, Chemieingenieurwesen) abdecken. Der Hauptsitz ist in Berlin. BFS ist in 15 Sprachen tätig, verfügt über Projektbüros in Rio De Janeiro, Teheran und Kuwait-City und bietet damit seinen Partnern und Kunden eine hohe technische und kulturelle Einsatzflexibilität. Als Projektleiter in anspruchsvollen Arbeitsumgebungen hat das BFS-Team und seine spezialisierten Partner bereits zahlreiche komplexe Projekte in den Bereichen der operativen Abfallverbringung, als auch der technischen Beratung weltweit durchgeführt. Zusammenfassung der wichtigsten Dienstleistungen: • A-Z Entsorgungslösungen und operative Abwicklung für gefährliche und nicht-gefährliche Abfälle weltweit • Abfallbehandlungskonzepte (nicht gefährliche Siedlungsabfälle, gefährliche Industrieabfälle, WEEE, medizinische Abfälle) für Behörden, Entsorgungsfirmen, Privatinvestoren • Fokusregionen: MENA, Lateinamerika, Westafrika, Südostasien • Internationale Projektentwicklung für Entsorgungsfirmen, Anlagenbauer und lokale Investoren

Als Mitglied der Allianz-Plattform will BFS die Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen und umfassenden Abfallwirtschaft mitgestalten. BFS sieht hier die Möglichkeit zur Vernetzung mit Experten aus der Wissenschaft, öffentlichen Einrichtungen sowie öffentlichen und privaten Unternehmen aus der ganzen Welt, die bereits auf diesem Gebiet tätig sind oder sich für Abfallwirtschaftslösungen interessieren. Über die Arbeitsgruppen der Allianz will BFS gemeinsam mit den internationalen Entwicklungsorganisationen an einer Reform der Abfallpolitik arbeiten und technische Beratung besonders in Schwellen- und Krisenländern anbieten.
BFS ist der Überzeugung, in der Arbeitsgruppe 3 “Elektro- und Elektronikaltgräte sammeln und verwerten” der Allianz Lösungen entwickeln zu können, um nachhaltige, umweltfreundliche Lösungen zur Sammlung und Behandlung von Elektroschrott auf nationaler Ebene aufzubauen. Mit Unterstützung der Experten der Arbeitsgruppe, des BMZ und international tätiger IT-Unternehmen können wir in Schwellenländern Initiativen ins Leben rufen und unterstützen, um die Herausforderung der Elektroschrottverwertung (der am schnellsten wachsende Abfallstrom in Afrika und Asien) auf Basis der Erweiterten Produzentenverantwortung (EPR) anzugehen.

Die klassische lineare Ökonomie folgt dem einfachen Weg der sogenannte „extract-make-use-dispose“-Strecke. Dieser Ansatz überlastet nicht nur die begrenzten Ressourcen der Erde, sondern auch ihre Fähigkeit, als Senke zur Aufnahme von Abfall zu fungieren. Aus unserer Sicht ist eine möglichst vollständige Kreislaufwirtschaft die einzige Lösung für eine nachhaltige Wirtschaft und das langfristige Ziel, auf das auch die aktuellen EU-Umweltgesetze und Verordnungen ausgerichtet sind. Ein wichtiger Schritt auf dem Weg zu diesem Ziel sind die Suche, Gestaltung und Umsetzung nachhaltiger Geschäftsmodelle in Schwellenländern. Deshalb sind wir Botschafter der „Open Source Circular Economy Days“ (OSCE Days), einem globalen Projekt zur Entwicklung und Nutzung von Open-Source-Lösungen und praktischen Methoden, um einen Wandel zu einer globalen nachhaltigen Kreislaufwirtschaft zu schaffen. Unter anderem haben wir im Rahmen dieses Projekts die „OSCE Days“ Workshops in Amman, Mumbai, Islamabad, Dubai, Seattle und Buenos Aires durchgeführt. Konkrete Schritte hin zu einer Kreislaufwirtschaft ist die Gewinnung von Sekundärrohstoffen aus Abfall. Hier unterstützt BFS u.a. bereits den Ansatz zu besserem Recycling von Elektrogeräten in der Deponie Agbogbloshie in Accra, Ghana.
Teil einer funktionierenden Kreislaufwirtschaft ist die Erweiterte Herstellerverantwortung (Extended Producer Responsibility). Durch Implementierung dieses Prinzips sind Unternehmen gezwungen, die Ressourceneffizienz zu erhöhen und die Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt berücksichtigen.