Member since: 05/2020

Active in: WG Plastics

www.alpla.com

ALPLA Werke Alwin Lehner GmbH & Co KG

ALPLA is one of the world’s leading manufacturers of plastic packaging. It employs around 20,800 staff, producing bespoke packaging systems, bottles, seals and moulded parts at 178 sites in 46 countries. Our high-quality packaging can be used for a wide range of products, including food and drink, cosmetics and care products, household cleaners, washing and cleaning products, medicines, motor oils and lubricants. ALPLA also operates its own recycling plants; its PET Recycling Team runs two sites, in Austria and Poland respectively, and is involved in joint ventures in Mexico and Germany. ALPA has been working together with the German firm Texplast on PET recycling since July 2018.

The Alliance provides us with an opportunity to support a sector that directly affects us as a company. “Using resources responsibly has never been more important. We have to make sure that everyone involved in the value chain understands how valuable plastics are and contributes to creating a circular economy.” Günther Lehner, ALPLA CEO.

At ALPLA, we have been heavily focused on recycling plastic and turning this valuable material into new packaging for over 25 years. We see recycling as an emerging sector of the economy in its own right, one that can make a positive impact on the environment and the future of our industry, as well as exerting a significant influence on how individual countries handle their waste. Recycling turns used plastic into a valuable commodity, facilitating investment in collection systems and the continued development of recycling technology. Recycled plastics are high-quality materials, and make an excellent alternative to new products. Using them reduces the use of fossil-based raw materials, cuts CO2 emissions and helps to develop waste disposal systems. The circular economy has been a key pillar of our sustainability strategy for many years, and ALPLA will continue to encourage the re-use of valuable materials by implementing the ‘bottle-to-bottle’ principle. Our objective is to turn old bottles into new ones and avoid ‘down-cycling’ as much as possible, even if we recognise that it is sometimes an unavoidable part of achieving high recycling rates.

Mitglied seit: 05/2019

Aktiv in: AG1

www.alpla.com/de

ALPLA Werke Alwin Lehner GmbH & Co KG

ALPLA gehört zu den führenden Unternehmen für Kunststoffverpackungen. Rund 20.800 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter produzieren weltweit an 178 Standorten in 46 Ländern maßgeschneiderte Verpackungssysteme, Flaschen, Verschlüsse und Spritzgussteile. Die Anwendungsbereiche der Qualitätsverpackungen sind vielfältig: Nahrungsmittel und Getränke, Kosmetik und Pflegeprodukte, Haushaltsreiniger, Wasch- und Putzmittel, Arzneimittel, Motoröl und Schmiermittel. ALPLA betreibt eigene Recyclingwerke: PET Recycling Team mit je einem Standort in Österreich und in Polen sowie im Rahmen von Joint Ventures in Mexiko und Deutschland. Mit Texplast (Deutschland) kooperiert ALPLA seit Juli 2018 im PET-Recycling.

“Die Allianz deckt einen sehr wichtigen und für uns Interessanten Bereich ab, bei dem wir unterstützen möchten. „Ein verantwortungsvoller Einsatz von Ressourcen ist wichtiger denn je. Wir müssen dafür sorgen, dass alle Beteiligten in der Wertschöpfungskette den Wert von Kunststoff erkennen und zur Kreislaufwirtschaft beitragen.“ ALPLA CEO Günther Lehner

Seit mehr als 25 Jahren beschäftigen wir uns bei ALPLA intensiv mit dem Recycling von Kunststoffen und der Verarbeitung dieser Wertstoffe zu neuen Verpackungen. Wir verstehen Recycling als aufstrebenden Wirtschaftszweig mit positiven Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt und die Zukunft unserer Branche, sowie einen wichtigen Einflussfaktor auf die Abfallwirtschaft im jeweiligen Land. Recycling gibt gebrauchten Kunststoffen einen Wert. Das ermöglicht die Investition in Sammelsysteme und in die Weiterentwicklung von Recyclingtechnologien. Recycelte Kunststoffe sind hochqualitative Materialien und eine sehr gute Alternative zu Neuware. Ihre Verwendung schont fossile Rohstoffe, reduziert den Ausstoß von CO2 und hilft Abfallsysteme aufzubauen. Kreislaufwirtschaft ist seit vielen Jahren ein wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie. ALPLA macht sich nach dem „Bottle-to-Bottle“-Prinzip stets für den Kreislauf von Wertstoffen stark. Unser Ziel ist es, aus gebrauchten Flaschen wieder neue Flaschen herzustellen. Downcycling sollte so gut wie möglich verhindert werden, auch wenn es im Sinne einer hohen Wiederverwertungsquote teilweise notwendig ist.