Member since: 06/2019

Active in: WG3

www.adelphi.de

adelphi

Adelphi is a leading independent think tank and public policy consultancy on climate, environment and development. Our mission is to improve global governance through research, dialogue and consultation. We offer demand-driven, tailor-made services for sustainable development, helping governments, international organizations, businesses and nonprofits design strategies for addressing global challenges.

Partnerships are key to the way we work at adelphi. By forging alliances with individuals and organizations, we help strengthen global governance and so promote transformative change, sustainable resources management and resilience. The concept of circular economy goes beyond traditional approaches and requires fundamental, system-wide changes along global value chains. Being a member of the PREVENT Waste Alliance, we seek to make an active contribution to facilitate such partnerships.

In essence, the circular economy describes an economic system which produces neither waste nor pollution by redesigning products to circulate at a high quality within the consumption and production system for as long as possible and feeding them back into the bio- or technosphere to restore natural capital or providing secondary resources at the end of use. The transition towards a circular economy makes a vital contribution to the achievement of the Agenda 2030 and the Paris Agreement. At the same time, it increases the competitiveness of industries and presents a global opportunity worth trillions.

Mitglied seit: 06/2019

Aktiv in: AG Elektroschrott

www.adelphi.de

adelphi

Adelphi ist eine unabhängige Denkfabrik und führende Beratungseinrichtung für Klima, Umwelt und Entwicklung. Ihr Auftrag ist die Stärkung von Global Governance durch Forschung, Beratung und Dialog. Sie bieten Regierungen, internationalen Organisationen, Unternehmen und zivilgesellschaftlichen Akteuren maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für nachhaltige Entwicklung und unterstützen sie dabei, globalen Herausforderungen wirkungsvoll zu begegnen.

Partnerschaften sind ein zentraler Schlüssel unserer Arbeit. Durch Kooperationen mit Spezialisten und Partnerorganisationen stärken wir Global Governance und fördern transformativen Wandel, nachhaltiges Ressourcenmanagement und Resilienz. Das Konzept der Kreislaufwirtschaft geht über traditionelle Ansätze hinaus und erfordert grundlegende, systemweite Partnerschaften entlang von globalen Wertschöpfungsketten. Im Rahmen der PREVENT Abfallallianz möchten wir einen aktiven Beitrag zur Förderung solcher Partnerschaften leisten.

Im Wesentlichen beschreibt die Kreislaufwirtschaft ein Wirtschaftssystem, das weder Abfall noch Umweltverschmutzung produziert. Produkte werden so umgestaltet, dass sie mit hoher Qualität so lange wie möglich im Konsum- und Produktionssystem zirkulieren. Am Ende der Nutzungsperiode fließen die Ressourcen in technische oder biologische Kreisläufe zurück. Der Übergang zur Kreislaufwirtschaft leistet einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Erreichung der Agenda 2030 und des Pariser Abkommens. Gleichzeitig erhöht er die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Industrien und stellt eine globale Chance in Billionenhöhe dar.